Sixty-first Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001

Introduced by

Memorial Resolutions Committee

1	A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota.
2	WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:
3	Jack Bernabucci, who served in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, from
4	District 29, died February 10, 2008;
5	Sam O. Bloom, who served in the 36th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies, from
6	District 40, died December 23, 2008;
7	Russell Boutilier, who served in the 38th Legislative Assembly, from District 34, died
8	January 25, 2009;
9	Harold "Hal" Christensen, who served in the 43rd Legislative Assembly, from District 5,
10	died January 15, 2008;
11	Eugene R. Dahl, who served in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, from
12	District 26, died July 23, 2008;
13	Dean Hildebrand, who served in the 42nd through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from
14	District 15, died September 10, 2008;
15	Peter S. Hilleboe, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 9, and in
16	the 40th through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 21, died November 18, 2008;
17	Myron Koppang, who served in the 56th and 57th Legislative Assemblies, from
18	District 25, died March 4, 2008;
19	Bruce W. Larson, who served in the 45th, 47th, and 48th Legislative Assemblies, from
20	District 12, died September 30, 2007;
21	Clarence P. Loewen, who served in the 35th through the 37th Legislative Assemblies,
22	from District 48, died January 14, 2008;
23	Gilman Peterson, who served in the 37th Legislative Assembly, from District 31, died
24	September 6, 2008;

1	John "Jack" M. Riley, who served in the 48th and 49th Legislative Assemblies, from
2	District 44, died March 2, 2007;
3	Leland Sabby, who served in the 54th and 55th Legislative Assemblies, from District 24,
4	died December 7, 2008;
5	Warren Schuett, who served in the 44th and 45th Legislative Assemblies, from
6	District 25, died December 27, 2007;
7	Jens Tennefos, who served in the 44th Legislative Assembly, from District 21, died
8	May 14, 2008;
9	Kenneth Tweten, who served in the 36th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies, from
10	District 7, and in the 40th through the 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, died
11	April 24, 2008;
12	Bruce M. Van Sickle, who served in the 35th and 36th Legislative Assemblies, from
13	District 29, died April 21, 2007;
14	John S. Whittlesey, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 9, died
15	July 16, 2008;
16	Ray H. Wikenheiser, who served in the 56th through the 58th Legislative Assemblies,
17	from District 28, died April 27, 2007; and
18	WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House colleagues and to
19	honor their memories; and
20	WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by
21	their contributions to public service;
22	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
23	OF NORTH DAKOTA:
24	That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the
25	people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and
26	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of
27	respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of
28	Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the
29	surviving families of these deceased representatives.