Sixty-first Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 6, 2009

HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001 (Memorial Resolutions Committee)

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:

Jack Bernabucci, who served in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, from District 29, died February 10, 2008;

Sam O. Bloom, who served in the 36th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 40, died December 23, 2008;

Russell Boutilier, who served in the 38th Legislative Assembly, from District 34, died January 25, 2009;

Harold "Hal" Christensen, who served in the 43rd Legislative Assembly, from District 5, died January 15, 2008;

Eugene R. Dahl, who served in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, from District 26, died July 23, 2008;

Dean Hildebrand, who served in the 42nd through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 15, died September 10, 2008;

Peter S. Hilleboe, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 9, and in the 40th through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 21, died November 18, 2008;

Myron Koppang, who served in the 56th and 57th Legislative Assemblies, from District 25, died March 4, 2008;

Bruce W. Larson, who served in the 45th, 47th, and 48th Legislative Assemblies, from District 12, died September 30, 2007;

Clarence P. Loewen, who served in the 35th through the 37th Legislative Assemblies, from District 48, died January 14, 2008;

Gilman Peterson, who served in the 37th Legislative Assembly, from District 31, died September 6, 2008;

John "Jack" M. Riley, who served in the 48th and 49th Legislative Assemblies, from District 44, died March 2, 2007;

Leland Sabby, who served in the 54th and 55th Legislative Assemblies, from District 24, died December 7, 2008;

Warren Schuett, who served in the 44th and 45th Legislative Assemblies, from District 25, died December 27, 2007;

Jens Tennefos, who served in the 44th Legislative Assembly, from District 21, died May 14, 2008;

Kenneth Tweten, who served in the 36th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 7, and in the 40th through the 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, died April 24, 2008;

Bruce M. Van Sickle, who served in the 35th and 36th Legislative Assemblies, from District 29, died April 21, 2007;

John S. Whittlesey, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 9, died July 16, 2008;

Ray H. Wikenheiser, who served in the 56th through the 58th Legislative Assemblies, from District 28, died April 27, 2007; and

WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House colleagues and to honor their memories; and

WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contributions to public service;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of these deceased representatives.

Speaker of the House

Chief Clerk of the House

Filed in this office this	day of	, 2009,
	•	

at _____ o'clock _____ M.

Secretary of State