Sixty-first Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO.

Introduced by

Representatives Hunskor, Froseth

Senator O'Connell

(Approved by the Delayed Bills Committee)

- 1 A concurrent resolution congratulating the Minot State University - Bottineau men's hockey 2 team on its third consecutive national championship. 3 WHEREAS, the Minot State University - Bottineau men's hockey team, also known as 4 the Lumberjacks, made the 1,800-mile journey by bus to Saranac Lake, New York, for the 5 National Junior College Athletic Association National Championship; and 6 WHEREAS, on March 1, 2009, the Minot State University - Bottineau men's hockey 7 team beat top-seeded Erie Community College, Buffalo, New York, 4-1 in the championship 8 game; and 9 WHEREAS, this was the third consecutive national title claimed by the Minot State 10 University - Bottineau men's hockey team and its seventh national title overall; and 11 WHEREAS, a national title is a monumental achievement accomplished only after 12 countless hours of practice, a tireless search for perfection, and selfless dedication to the
- 12 countless hours of practice, a tireless search for perfection, and selfless dedication to the
 13 common goal; and
 14 WHEREAS, a third consecutive national title brings a well-deserved sense of honor and

pride not only to the players, but to all North Dakotans and especially to the parents, teachers,

- 16 coaches, and supporters of the fine young men who constitute this team; and
- 17 WHEREAS, the Lumberjacks' coach, Travis Rybchinski was named Coach of the
- 18 Tournament, and Colby Rehak, Danny Urban, and Joe Caruso were named to the 2009
- 19 All-Tournament Team; and

15

- WHEREAS, in addition to Travis Rybchinski, the coaching staff included Ron Gullet and
 Jeremi Tweed; and
- 22 WHEREAS, in addition to Colby Rehak, Danny Urban, and Joe Caruso, the team
- 23 members included Shawn Schindler, Collin McIntee, Chris Anderson, Mark Henke, Matt
- 24 Klockmann, Kenny Lybeck, Shawn Sayler, Jared McIntosh, Pierre Sorenson, Daylan Laramee,

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

- 1 Jacob Oster, Nick Porchetta, Justin Heth, Jared Schumaier, Michael Dufek, Jed Johnson,
- 2 Derek Dubois, Delaney Nicol-Samuel, and Isaac Friesen;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Legislative Assembly of North Dakota takes great pride in extending its heartiest congratulations to the Lumberjacks of Minot State University - Bottineau on winning a third consecutive National Junior College Athletic Association National Championship; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward a copy of this resolution to the coaches and members of the Minot State University - Bottineau men's hockey team and to the President of Minot State University - Bottineau.