Sixty-second Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## **HOUSE BILL NO. 1240**

Introduced by

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

Representative Kretschmar

- 1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 54-55-01 of the North Dakota Century Code,
- 2 relating to the qualifications of members of the commission on uniform state laws.

## 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

- 4 **SECTION 1. AMENDMENT.** Section 54-55-01 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:
- 6 54-55-01. Commission on uniform state laws Membership.

The commission on uniform state laws consists of an individual engaged in the practice of law in this state, the dean or a full-time member of the faculty of the law school of the university of North Dakota, a law-trained judge of a court of record in this state, a member of the house of representatives and a member of the senate of the legislative assembly, and a member of the legislative council. The commission also consists of any residents of this state who, because of long service in the cause of uniformity of state legislation, have been elected life members of the national conference of commissioners on uniform state laws, and may also consist of any residents of this state who have been previously appointed to at least five years of service on the commission. Commissioners, except Except for the members of the legislative assembly, the member of the legislative council, and life members, commissioners first appointed after July 21, 2011, must be residents of the state, must be appointed by the governor for terms of four years each, commencing on the first day of September following each presidential election, and shall serve until their respective successors are appointed. The members of the legislative assembly on the commission must be appointed by the legislative management for a term not to exceed four years as prescribed by the legislative management, and the member of the legislative council must be appointed by the chairman of the legislative management.