Sixty-second Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001

Introduced by

Memorial Resolutions Committee

- 1 A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota.
- WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:
- Clare H. Aubol, who served in the 48th Legislative Assembly, from District 4, died March 30,
- 4 2009;
- 5 Florenz Bjornson, who served in the 46th Legislative Assembly, from District 13, died
- 6 January 19, 2011;
- A. G. "Art" Bunker, who served in the 40th through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 8 District 21, died October 31, 2009;
- 9 Pat Galvin, who served in the 54th through the 59th Legislative Assemblies, from District 33,
- 10 died April 25, 2010;
- 11 Charles Herman, who served in the 35th Legislative Assembly, from District 37, and in the
- 12 42nd and 43rd Legislative Assemblies, from District 21, died June 12, 2010;
- Kenneth Knudson, who served in the 40th through the 50th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 14 District 38, died December 12, 2009;
- Arthur A. Link, who served in the 30th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 16 District 41, and in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, from District 36, died June 1, 2010;
- 17 Arthur Melby, who served in the 46th through the 51st Legislative Assemblies, from
- 18 District 14, died December 3, 2010;
- Walter A. Meyer, who served in the 44th through the 47th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 20 District 35, and in the 48th Legislative Assembly, from District 53, died October 6, 2010;
- Eldor Miller, who served in the 42nd Legislative Assembly, from District 33, died
- 22 November 21, 2010;
- Doug Nordby, who served in the 45th Legislative Assembly, from District 39, died
- 24 February 6, 2010;

- 1 Alice Olson-Byron, who served in the 43rd through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from
- 2 District 11, and in the 53rd through the 55th Legislative Assemblies, from District 10, died
- 3 February 21, 2010;
- 4 Vincent C. Olson, who served in the 49th through the 51st Legislative Assemblies, from
- 5 District 24, died May 31, 2010;
- 6 Art Raymond, who served in the 42nd through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 7 District 18, died April 1, 2009;
- 8 Verdine D. Rice, who served in the 47th through the 50th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 9 District 1, died March 30, 2009;
- August Ritter, who served in the 52nd Legislative Assembly, from District 47, died
- 11 January 17, 2008;
- 12 Emil E. Schaffer, who served in the 38th and 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 36,
- and in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, from District 30, died November 5, 2010;
- 14 Michael Unhjem, who served in the 44th Legislative Assembly, from District 29, and in the
- 15 45th through the 49th Legislative Assemblies, from District 48, died September 13, 2010;
- Adella J. Williams, who served in the 48th through the 51st Legislative Assemblies, from
- 17 District 27, died November 1, 2010;
- Dean Winkjer, who served in the 43rd through the 46th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 19 District 1, died April 25, 2009;
- WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House colleagues and to
- 21 honor their memories; and
- WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by
- 23 their contributions to public service;
- 24 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF
- 25 **NORTH DAKOTA**:
- That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people
- 27 of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and
- 28 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of
- 29 respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of
- 30 Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the
- 31 surviving families of these deceased representatives.