Sixty-second Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

SENATE BILL NO. 2053

Introduced by

Legislative Management

(Tribal and State Relations Committee)

- 1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 54-35-23 of the North Dakota Century Code,
- 2 relating to extension and duties of the committee on tribal and state relations.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

4 SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 54-35-23 of the North Dakota Century Code is 5 amended and reenacted as follows: 6 54-35-23. (Effective through July 31, 2011/2013) Committee on tribal and state 7 relations - Membership - Duties. 8 1. The committee on tribal and state relations is composed of seven members as follows: 9 TheA chairman designated by the chairman of the legislative management or the а. 10 chairman's designee; 11 b. Three members of the house of representatives, two of whom must be selected 12 by the leader representing the majority faction of the house of representatives 13 and one of whom must be selected by the leader representing the minority 14 faction of the house of representatives; and 15 Three members of the senate, two of whom must be selected by the leader C. 16 representing the majority faction of the senate and one of whom must be 17 selected by the leader representing the minority faction of the senate. 18 2. The chairman of the legislative management, or the chairman's designee, shall serve-19 as chairman of the committee. 20 3. The committee shall meet at such times and places as determined by the chairman. 21 The legislative council shall provide staffing for the committee. 22 <u>4.3.</u> The committee shall conduct joint meetings with the native AmericanNorth Dakota 23 tribal citizens'governments' task force to study tribal-state issues, including 24 government-to-government relations, the delivery of human services, case-

11.0265.02001

1		management services, child support enforcementeducation, corrections, and issues
2		related to the promotion of economic development. The committee also shall work to
3		educate all citizens of this state, native as well as nonnative, on Indian issues and
4		tribal sovereignty. During the 2011-12 interim, the committee also shall study whether
5		the members of the North Dakota tribal governments' task force should be voting
6		members of the committee. After the joint meetings have concluded, the committee
7		shall meet to prepare a report on its findings and recommendations, together with any
8		legislation required to implement those recommendations, to the legislative
9		management.
10	<u>5.4.</u>	The members of the committee are entitled to compensation from the legislative
11		council for attendance at committee meetings at the rate provided for members of the
12		legislative assembly for attendance at interim committee meetings and are entitled to
13		reimbursement for expenses incurred in attending the meetings in the amounts
14		provided by law for other state officers.
15	6.a.<u>5.</u>	a. The native AmericanNorth Dakota tribal citizens'governments' task force is
16		composed of six members as follows:
17		_(1)a. The executive director of the Indian affairs commission, or the executive
18		director's designee;
19	-	(2) <u>b.</u> The chairman of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, or the chairman's
20		designee;
21		_(3). The chairman of the Spirit Lake Tribe, or the chairman's designee;
22		_(4) <u>d.</u> The chairman of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation,
23		or the chairman's designee;
24		_(5) <u>e.</u> The chairman of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians, or the
25		chairman's designee; and
26		_(6)f. The chairman of the Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate of the Lake Traverse
27		Reservation, or the chairman's designee.
28		b. If the executive director of the Indian affairs commission or any of the tribal
29		chairmen appoint a designee to serve on the task force, only one individual may
30		serve as that designee during the biennium. A substitute designee may be
31		appointed by the executive director of the Indian affairs commission or a tribal

Sixty-second Legislative Assembly

chairman in the event of the death, incapacity, resignation, or refusal to serve of
the initial designee.