Sixty-second Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

HOUSE BILL NO. 1186

Introduced by

Representatives Kreidt, Heller, J. Nelson, Boe

Senator Christmann

- 1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact subsection 1 of section 53-06.2-02 of the North Dakota
- 2 Century Code, relating to the membership of the North Dakota racing commission.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

4 SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Subsection 1 of section 53-06.2-02 of the North Dakota
5 Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

6 1. A North Dakota racing commission is established consisting of the chairman and four 7 other members appointed by the governor. One of the members must be appointed 8 from a list of four nominees, one of whom is nominated by the state chapter or affiliate 9 of the American guarter horse racing association, one of whom is nominated by the 10 state chapter or affiliate of the United States trotting association, one of whom is 11 nominated by the state chapter or affiliate of the international Arabian horse 12 association, and one of whom is nominated by the state chapter or affiliate of the 13 North Dakota thoroughbred owners and breeders association. The members serve 14 five-year terms and until a successor is appointed and gualified. A member appointed 15 to fill a vacancy arising from other than the natural expiration of a term serves for the 16 unexpired portion of the term and may be reappointed. The terms of the 17 commissioners must be staggered so that one term expires each July first. At the 18 expiration of the five-year term of each incumbent member of the commission, the 19 governor shall appoint a new member to the commission.