Sixty-second Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 4, 2011

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4003 (Legislative Management) (Workforce Committee)

A concurrent resolution supporting the Northern Tier Network Technology Initiative, its private enterprise partners, and the related activities of the Legislative Management's Information Technology Committee.

WHEREAS, the Northern Tier Network Technology Initiative is the implementation of an information technology network for the purpose of supporting the research and education missions of the North Dakota University System from Seattle, Washington, to Chicago, Illinois, and from Winnipeg, Manitoba, to Omaha, Nebraska, with North Dakota's segments bordering Montana to the west, Minnesota to the east, the Canadian border to the north, and South Dakota to the south; and

WHEREAS, in 2007 the Legislative Assembly appropriated funds to the North Dakota University System to support the Northern Tier Network Technology Initiative; and

WHEREAS, during the 2007-08 and 2009-10 interims the Legislative Management's Information Technology Committee has received status reports on the implementation of North Dakota's portion of the Northern Tier Network; and

WHEREAS, North Dakota telecommunication companies have played and will continue to play an important role in supporting the Northern Tier Network Technology Initiative;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Sixty-second Legislative Assembly supports the Northern Tier Network Technology Initiative, its private enterprise partners, and the related activities of the Legislative Management's interim Information Technology Committee.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to the members of the Northern Tier Network - North Dakota and the chairman of the Legislative Management's Information Technology Committee.

President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
Secretary of the Senate	Chief Clerk of the House