## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

## Tentative Agenda

## COMMISSION ON ALTERNATIVES TO INCARCERATION

Monday and Tuesday, February 10-11, 2014 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Monday, February 10, 2014	
1:15 p.m.	Call to order
	Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the December 9-10, 2013, meeting
1:20 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Bob Wefald, Retired District Judge, regarding mandatory sentencing
1:35 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Dell Horn, Jamestown Community Corrections, regarding community service programs
2:05 p.m.	Presentation by representatives of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation regarding sentencing data and corrections budgets
2:50 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Faye Miller, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Bismarck-Mandan, regarding mentoring of at-risk children
3:05 p.m.	Break
3:20 p.m	Presentation by representatives of the Department of Human Services regarding human service budgets
3:50 p.m.	Presentation by representatives of the Cass County Sheriff's Department regarding the Cass County Jail mental health intervention program and crisis intervention teams
4:20 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to restitution and supervision and conditions of probation
4:25 p.m.	Presentation by members of the commission regarding bill drafts prepared at their request
4:40 p.m.	Comments by interested persons and commission discussion
5:00 p.m.	Recess
Tuesday, Febr 9:00 a.m.	ruary 11, 2014  Presentation by Ms. Lindsey Carlson, Associate, State Policy, The Pew Charitable Trusts, regarding correction reform in other states
10:00 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and commission discussion regarding bill drafts and potential commission recommendations relating to executive budget proposals
12:00 noon	Staff directives and other miscellaneous matters
1:30 p.m.	Adjourn

## **Commission Members**

Senators: Ron Carlisle (Chairman), John Grabinger, Margaret Sitte

Representatives: Lawrence R. Klemin, William E. Kretschmar, Marie Strinden

Citizen Members: Maggie D. Anderson, Leann K. Bertsch, Dan Donlin, Mark A. Friese, Meredith Huseby

Larson, Duane Johnston, Paul D. Laney, Justice Lisa McEvers, Justice Mary Muehlen

Maring, Jason T. Olson, Gary Rabe, Thomas L. Trenbeath

Staff Contact: John Bjornson, Assistant Code Revisor