## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

## **Tentative Agenda**

## COMMISSION ON ALTERNATIVES TO INCARCERATION

Monday, April 28, 2014 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the February 10-11, 2014, meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Judge Gail Hagerty and Judge Frank L. Racek regarding sentencing practices
9:35 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Kristie Spooner and Ms. Vicki Michels, Board of Addiction Counseling Examiners, regarding licensing requirements for addiction counselors
10:05 a.m.	Presentation by representatives of the Cass County Sheriff's office regarding mental health initiatives in the Cass County jail
10:35 a.m.	Break
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by Judge Bradley Cruff regarding the Hawaii's Opportunity Probation with Enforcement (HOPE) program
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by Judge Donovan Foughty regarding drug courts
11:45 a.m.	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Pastor Renee Splichal Larson regarding the Heart River Bridges of Hope reentry ministry
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Sandy Thompson, West Central Human Service Center, regarding initiatives by the Department of Human Services to train and hire addiction counselors
1:45 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a revised bill draft relating to supervision and conditions of probation
1:50 p.m.	Comments by interested persons and commission discussion regarding the bill draft relating to supervision and conditions of probation
2:10 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a resolution draft to provide for a Legislative Management study of restitution
2:15 p.m.	Comments by interested persons and commission discussion regarding the resolution draft to provide for a Legislative Management study of restitution
2:25 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a revised bill draft relating to mandatory sentences
2:30 p.m.	Comments by interested persons and commission discussion regarding the bill draft relating to mandatory sentences
2:40 p.m.	Commission discussion and staff directives
3:40 p.m.	Adjourn

## **Commission Members**

Senators: Ron Carlisle (Chairman), John Grabinger, Margaret Sitte

Representatives: Lawrence R. Klemin, William E. Kretschmar, Marie Strinden

Citizen Members: Maggie D. Anderson, Leann K. Bertsch, Dan Donlin, Mark A. Friese, Meredith Huseby

Larson, Duane Johnston, Paul D. Laney, Justice Lisa McEvers, Justice Mary Muehlen

Maring, Jason T. Olson, Gary Rabe, Thomas L. Trenbeath

Staff Contact: John Bjornson, Assistant Code Revisor