Sixty-third Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 8001

Introduced by

Memorial Resolutions Committee

1 A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of North Dakota.

2 **WHEREAS**, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:

3 Arden Anderson, who served in the 60th and 61st Legislative Assemblies, from District 25,

4 died May 16, 2012;

5 Arthur Henry Behm, who served in the 60th and 61st Legislative Assemblies, from District 19,

6 died July 6, 2012;

7 Dennis Bercier, who served in the 56th through the 59th Legislative Assemblies, from

8 District 9, died June 11, 2012;

9 Thomas L. Fischer, who served in the 55th through the 62nd Legislative Assemblies, from

10 District 46, died November 16, 2011;

Herbert T. Geving, who served in the 40th Legislative Assembly, from District 4, died April 23,
2011;

Erwin "Bud" Hanson, who served in the 51st and 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 2,
died October 7, 2011;

Orlin Milton "Bill" Hanson, who served in the 52nd Legislative Assembly, from District 3, died
October 13, 2012;

17 Ludger Kadlec, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 3, died

18 September 16, 2012;

19 George Longmire, who served in the 35th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies, from

20 District 7, and in the 40th through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, died

21 March 25, 2012;

22 Ernest G. Pyle, who served in the 40th through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from

23 District 22, died May 28, 2011;

Earl H. Redlin, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 25, and in the 40th

through 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 28, died December 21, 2012;

Sixty-third Legislative Assembly

1	Rolland "Rollie" Redlin, who served in the 36^{th} through the 38^{th} Legislative Assemblies, from
2	District 40, in the 43 rd and 44 th Legislative Assemblies, from District 5, in the 45 th through the
3	52 nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 40 and 50, and in the 53 rd through the 56 th Legislative
4	Assemblies, from District 38, died September 23, 2011;
5	Chester Reiten, who served in the 43 rd and 44 th Legislative Assemblies, from District 5, and
6	in the 45 th through the 50 th Legislative Assemblies, from District 40 and 50, died January 22,
7	2013;
8	Ernest Sands, who served in the 40 th and 41 st Legislative Assemblies and in the 43 rd through
9	the 46 th Legislative Assemblies, from District 7, died April 9, 2012;
10	Marvin E. Sorum, who served in the 46^{th} and 47^{th} Legislative Assemblies, from District 3,
11	died March 12, 2012;
12	Robert W. "Bob" Stenehjem, who served in the 53 rd through the 62 nd Legislative Assemblies,
13	from District 30, died July 18, 2011;
14	Darlene Watne, who served in the 54 th through the 57 th Legislative Assemblies, from
15	District 5, died October 12, 2012;
16	WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former Senate colleagues and to
17	honor their memories; and
18	WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by
19	their contributions to public service;
20	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:
21	That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people
22	of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and
23	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of
24	respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the Senate and
25	that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of
26	these deceased senators.