## Sixty-third Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 8, 2013

HOUSE BILL NO. 1260 (Representatives Karls, Guggisberg, K. Koppelman, Maragos) (Senators Lyson, Sorvaag)

AN ACT to amend and reenact subsection 1 of section 62.1-02-01.1 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to jurisdiction for petitions to restore firearm rights.

## BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

**SECTION 1. AMENDMENT.** Subsection 1 of section 62.1-02-01.1 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

1. An individual who is prohibited from possessing a firearm due to a conviction of a felony under subdivision b of subsection 1 of section 62.1-02-01 may petition the district court in the district where the individual resides for restoration of the individual's firearm rights. If the felony offense was committed in this state, the petition must be filed with the district court in the county where the offense occurred. If the offense was a felony of another state or the federal government, the petition must be filed with the district court in the county where the petitioner resides. A copy of the petition must be served on the state's attorney's office in the county where the petition is filed in accordance with Rule 5 of the North Dakota Rules of Civil Procedure. The state's attorney's office shall have twenty days to file a written response to the petition with the district court.

## H. B. NO. 1260 - PAGE 2

	Speaker of the House			President of the Senate	
	Chief C	elerk of the House		Secretary of the Senate	
This certifies the Assembly of No	nat the within bil orth Dakota and	I originated in the is known on the r	House of Repre ecords of that bo	sentatives of the Sixty ody as House Bill No. 1	v-third Legislative 1260.
House Vote:	Yeas 87	Nays 0	Absent 7		
Senate Vote:	Yeas 42	Nays 3	Absent 2		
				Chief Clerk of the H	ouse
Received by the Governor atM. on					, 2013.
Approved atM. on					, 2013.
				Governor	
Filed in this office thisday of					, 2013,
at o'	clock	<u>.</u> M.			
				Secretary of State	