### Sixty-fifth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

# HOUSE BILL NO. 1412

## Introduced by

Representatives Dobervich, P. Anderson, Boe, Boschee, Mitskog, Mock, M. Nelson Senators Grabinger, Heckaman, Marcellais, Mathern, Oban

- 1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 54-35-23 of the North Dakota Century Code,
- 2 relating to the membership of the tribal and state relations committee.

# 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

4 SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 54-35-23 of the North Dakota Century Code is

5 amended and reenacted as follows:

# 6 54-35-23. Committee on tribal and state relations - Membership - Duties.

- The committee on tribal and state relations is composed of seventhirteen members as
   follows:
- 9 a. A chairman designated by the chairman of the legislative management;
- b. Three members of the house of representatives, two of whom must be selected
  by the leader representing the majority faction of the house of representatives
  and one of whom must be selected by the leader representing the minority
  faction of the house of representatives; and
- c. Three members of the senate, two of whom must be selected by the leader
  representing the majority faction of the senate and one of whom must be
  selected by the leader representing the minority faction of the senate;
- 17d.The executive director of the Indian affairs commission, or the executive18director's designee;
- 19 <u>e.</u> <u>The chairman of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, or the chairman's designee;</u>
- 20 <u>f.</u> <u>The chairman of the Spirit Lake Tribe, or the chairman's designee;</u>
- 21g.The chairman of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation, or22the chairman's designee;
- 23 <u>h.</u> The chairman of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians, or the
   24 <u>chairman's designee; and</u>

Sixty-fifth Legislative Assembly

	<u>i. The</u>	chairman of the Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate of the Lake Traverse
	Res	ervation, or the chairman's designee.
2.	A quorum of the committee on tribal and state relations is required to conduct	
	business, but the committee may conduct a meeting with less than a quorum present.	
	A quorum is a majority of the members of the committee. Any action taken requires a	
	vote of the majority of the members present at the meeting.	
<u>3.</u>	The committee shall meet at suchthose times and places as determined by the chairman. The legislative council shall provide staffing for the committee.	
<del>3.<u>4.</u></del>	The committee shall conduct joint meetings with the North Dakota tribal governments'	
	task force to study tribal-state issues, including government-to-government relations,	
	human services, education, corrections, and issues related to the promotion of	
	economic development. After the joint meetings have concluded, the <u>The</u> committee	
	shall meet to prepare a report on its findings and recommendations, together with any	
	legislation required to implement those recommendations, to the legislative	
	management.	
<u>4.5.</u>	The legislative members of the committee are entitled to compensation from the	
	legislative council for attendance at committee meetings at the rate provided for	
	members of the legislative assembly for attendance at interim committee meetings	
	and are entitled to reimbursement for expenses incurred in attending the meetings in	
	the amounts provided by law for other state officers.	
<del>5.</del>	<del>a.</del> The	North Dakota tribal governments' task force is composed of six members as
	folle	<del>)WS:</del>
	<del>(1)</del>	The executive director of the Indian affairs commission, or the executive
		director's designee;
	<del>(2)</del>	The chairman of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, or the chairman's-
		<del>designee;</del>
	<del>(3)</del>	The chairman of the Spirit Lake Tribe, or the chairman's designee;
	<del>(4)</del>	The chairman of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation,
		or the chairman's designee;
	<del>(5)</del>	The chairman of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians, or the-
		chairman's designee; and
	<u>3.</u> <u>3.4.</u> 4. <u>5.</u>	$\begin{array}{c} \operatorname{Res} \\ 2. & \operatorname{A} \operatorname{quorum} \\ \operatorname{business} \\ \operatorname{A} \operatorname{quorum} \\ \operatorname{vote} \operatorname{of} \operatorname{th} \\ \operatorname{vote} \operatorname{of} \operatorname{th} \\ \operatorname{vote} \operatorname{of} \operatorname{th} \\ \operatorname{tairman} \\ 3. & \operatorname{The} \operatorname{com} \\ \operatorname{chairman} \\ 3.4. & \operatorname{The} \operatorname{com} \\ \operatorname{task} \operatorname{fore} \\ \operatorname{human} \operatorname{s} \\ \operatorname{economi} \\ \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{men} \\ \operatorname{legislatio} \\ \operatorname{managen} \\ \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{men} \\ \operatorname{legislatio} \\ \operatorname{managen} \\ \operatorname{the} \operatorname{amon} \\ \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{men} \\ \operatorname{legislatio} \\ \operatorname{managen} \\ \operatorname{the} \operatorname{amon} \\ \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{men} \\ \operatorname{legislatio} \\ \operatorname{managen} \\ \operatorname{the} \operatorname{amon} \\ \operatorname{the} \operatorname{amon} \\ \operatorname{th} \\ \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{men} \\ \operatorname{the} \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{men} \\ \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{men} \\ \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{men} \\ \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{men} \\ \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{men} \\ \operatorname{shall} \\ \operatorname{shall} \operatorname{shall}$

 (6) The chairman of the Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate of the Lake Traverse-Reservation, or the chairman's designee.
 b.6. If the executive director of the Indian affairs commission or any of the tribal chairmen appoint a designee to serve on the task forcecommittee, only one individual may serve as that designee during the biennium. A substitute designee may be appointed by the executive director of the Indian affairs commission or a tribal chairman in the event of the death, incapacity, resignation, or refusal to serve of the initial designee.