Sixty-fifth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

SENATE BILL NO. 2299

Introduced by

Senators Mathern, Erbele

Representatives J. Nelson, Delmore

- 1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 15-52-03 of the North Dakota Century Code,
- 2 relating to the members of the university of North Dakota school of medicine and health
- 3 sciences advisory council.

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

22

4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

- 5 **SECTION 1. AMENDMENT.** Section 15-52-03 of the North Dakota Century Code is 6 amended and reenacted as follows:
- 15-52-03. School of medicine and health sciences advisory council Members, terms,
 meetings.
 - To assure the proper coordination of the university of North Dakota school of medicine
 and health sciences with all other health activities of the state, a permanent school of
 medicine and health sciences advisory council is established to perform the duties in
 section 15-52-04.
 - 2. The council consists of fifteensixteen members:
 - a. (1) Two members of the senate, one of whom must be from the majority party and one of whom must be from the minority party, selected by the chairman of the legislative management; and
 - (2) Two members of the house of representatives, one of whom must be from the majority party and one of whom must be from the minority party, to be selected by the chairman of the legislative management;
 - b. One member selected by each of the following:
- 21 (1) The department of human services;
 - (2) The state board of higher education;
- 23 (3) The state department of health;
- 24 (4) The North Dakota medical association;

19

1 (5) The North Dakota hospital association; 2 (6) The veterans administration hospital in Fargo; and 3 (7) The North Dakota center for nursing; and 4 (8) The university of North Dakota center for rural health; and 5 Four members selected by the dean of the university of North Dakota school of C. 6 medicine and health sciences, one from each of the four campuses of the school 7 of medicine and health sciences with headquarters in Bismarck, Fargo, Grand 8 Forks, and Minot. 9 3. The representatives named by the state agencies and boards must be selected to 10 serve as members of the advisory council for periods of at least one year, but may not 11 serve longer than their term of office on the public agency. The representatives from 12 the North Dakota medical association and, the North Dakota hospital association, and 13 the North Dakota center for nursing shall serve a term of three years or until their 14 successors are named and qualified. 15 4. The council shall name its own chairman and the dean of the university of North 16 Dakota school of medicine and health sciences shall serve as executive secretary of 17 the council. The executive secretary does not have voting privileges. The council shall 18 meet not less than twice each year, and, from time to time, on its own motion or upon

request of the university administration.