## Sixty-fifth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 3, 2017

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3010 (Representatives D. Anderson, Dockter, C. Johnson, Owens) (Senators Kreun, Vedaa)

A concurrent resolution recognizing the efforts undertaken and the continued need for the State of North Dakota and the entire United States to undertake responsible measures to harden our commercial electrical grid against multiple serious threats.

WHEREAS, continued reliable operation of our national electrical grid is an absolutely vital core requirement for modern society to continue to function; and

**WHEREAS**, the strategic vulnerability of our electrical grid to multiple threats has been documented by many leaders and technical experts; and

**WHEREAS**, Congressional Electromagnetic Pulse Commission experts have predicted worst-case impacts from these threats could take down much, if not all, of our national electrical grid for an extended period, and testified a high-end electromagnetic pulse event could result in the eventual death of up to ninety percent of America's population; and

**WHEREAS**, public and private electric utilities have taken many steps in response to these threats, including the implementation of Critical Infrastructure Protection standards developed by the North American Electric Reliability Corporation, which includes the strategic installation of appropriate hardware, such as electrical shunts and surge suppressors;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Sixty-fifth Legislative Assembly recognizes the efforts undertaken to protect our state and national power grid from these serious threats, and urges state and federal regulatory agencies to continue awareness of this issue and carefully coordinated efforts involving private and public sectors to address the threat of electromagnetic pulse; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to the Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, the Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security, the Secretary of Energy, and each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.

Speaker of the House	President of the Senate
Chief Clerk of the House	Secretary of the Senate