Sixty-fifth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 3, 2017

HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001 (Memorial Resolutions Committee)

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:

LeRoy George Bernstein, who served in the 51st through the 59th Legislative Assemblies, from District 45, died January 4, 2017;

Elaine Vig Caldis, who served in the 46th and 47th Legislative Assemblies, from District 17, died September 30, 2015;

Lyle L. Dawson, Jr., who served in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies, from District 35, died March 29, 2015;

Donald Dean Dietrich, who served in the 59th and 60th Legislative Assemblies, from District 42, died December 11, 2016;

Gordon Fredrick Emerson, who served in the 41st Legislative Assembly, from District 5, died August 9, 2016;

Charles "Chuck" Frank Fleming, who served in the 42nd through the 46th Legislative Assemblies, from District 10, died July 13, 2016;

Chester "Chet" Fossum, who served in the 36th through the 40th Legislative Assemblies, from District 28, died May 22, 2015;

Arthur David Goffe, who served in the 52nd and 53rd Legislative Assemblies, from District 24, died March 6, 2016;

Richard Anthony "Dick" Hentges, who serviced in the 41st through 43rd Legislative Assemblies, from District 21, died March 9, 2017.

Gordon John Hill, who served in the 45th Legislative Assembly, from District 8, died July 22, 2015;

Sebastian Fabian "Buckshot" Hoffner, who served in the 38th and 39th, the 41st and 42nd, and the 48th Legislative Assemblies, from District 12, died December 17, 2015;

Curt Hofstad, who served in the 60th through the 64th Legislative Assemblies, from District 15, died June 18, 2016;

Ernest N. Johnson, who served in the 36th through the 41st Legislative Assemblies, from District 15, died April 4, 2015;

James A. Kerzman, who served in the 52nd through the 56th Legislative Assemblies, from District 35, and in the 57th through the 61st Legislative Assemblies, from District 31, died June 20, 2015;

Paul Patrick, who served in the 42nd Legislative Assembly, from District 8, died January 16, 2017;

Charles E. "Chuck" Orange, who served in the 43rd and 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, died April 2, 2016;

Emil J. Riehl, who served in the 45th through the 50th Legislative Assemblies, from District 35, died February 27, 2016;

H. M. R. NO. 7001 - PAGE 2

Enoch Thorsgard, who served in the 41st through the 46th Legislative Assemblies, from District 19, died December 16, 2015;

Harold Neil Trautman, who served in the 50th through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 48, died July 11, 2015;

Vernon E. Wagner, who served in the 38th Legislative Assembly, from District 27, in the 39th through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 32, and in the 45th through the 47th Legislative Assemblies, from District 47, died May 31, 2016;

Cheryl Ann Watkins, who served in the 43rd and 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 21, died September 3, 2016;

Wade Allen Williams, who served in the 48th through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 29, died May 12, 2015; and

WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House of Representatives colleagues and to honor their memories; and

WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contributions to public service;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of these deceased Representatives.

Speaker of the House
Chief Clerk of the House