Sixty-fifth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 3, 2017

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3009 (Representatives Brandenburg, Headland, Kempenich, Magrum, Weisz, Zubke) (Senators Erbele, Klein, Schaible, Sorvaag, Wanzek)

A concurrent resolution urging Congress to amend the 2014 farm bill to allow counties to use raw yield data from insurance companies to supplement the national agriculture statistics survey to calculate payments under the Agriculture Risk Coverage program when an insufficient number of surveys are returned to accurately calculate payments.

WHEREAS, the Agriculture Risk Coverage program was authorized by the 2014 federal farm bill; and

WHEREAS, the Agriculture Loss Coverage-County program provides revenue loss coverage at the county level when the actual crop revenue of a covered commodity is less than the program guarantee for the covered commodity; and

WHEREAS, to qualify to receive payments, commodity producers in a county must complete and return a national agriculture statistics survey relating to yields; and

WHEREAS, multiple counties and producers in North Dakota have not qualified and will not receive payments under the program because there has been an insufficient number of yield data surveys returned from the county to accurately calculate payments;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Sixty-fifth Legislative Assembly urges Congress to amend the 2014 farm bill to allow counties to use raw yield data from insurance companies to supplement the national agriculture statistics survey to calculate payments under the Agriculture Risk Coverage program when an insufficient number of surveys are returned to accurately calculate payments; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation, the Majority and Minority Leaders of the United States Senate and the United States House of Representatives, and the Secretary of the United States Department of Agriculture.

Speaker of the House

President of the Senate

Chief Clerk of the House

Secretary of the Senate