Sixty-fifth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 3, 2017

SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 8001 (Memorial Resolutions Committee)

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:

Howard A. Freed, who served in the 40th through the 45th Legislative Assemblies, from District 37, died March 8, 2017.

Perry Bernard Grotberg, who served in the 47th and 48th Legislative Assemblies, from District 24, died October 16, 2015.

E. Gene Hilken, who served in the 48th through the 51st Legislative Assemblies, from District 31, died March 14, 2016.

Sebastian Fabian "Buckshot" Hoffner, who served in the 43rd through the 46th Legislative Assemblies, from District 12, died December 17, 2015.

Shirley Williams Lee, who served in the 43rd through the 48th Legislative Assemblies, from District 8, died February 8, 2016.

Charles E. "Chuck" Orange, who served in the 45th and 46th Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, died April 2, 2016.

James "Jim" Pomeroy, who served in the 60th and 61st Legislative Assemblies, from District 27, died April 8, 2016.

WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former Senate colleagues and to honor their memories; and

WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contributions to public service;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the Senate and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of these deceased Senators.

President of the Senate
Secretary of the Senate