Sixty-sixth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Thursday, January 3, 2019

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3009 (Representatives Roers Jones, M. Johnson, O'Brien, Pyle, Schreiber-Beck) (Senators J. Lee, Oban, J. Roers, Unruh)

A concurrent resolution recognizing the 100th anniversary of the ratification of the 19th Amendment to the United States Constitution, which provided women the right to vote, and urging Congress to continue working to provide equal rights to women.

WHEREAS, the women's rights movement began in Seneca Falls, New York, in 1848 when the first-ever Women's Rights Convention was organized by Lucretia Mott and Elizabeth Cady Stanton; and

WHEREAS, the convention started a 72-year national battle to achieve "Votes for Women", which played out in every state capitol as well as Congress until the ratification of the 19th Amendment; and

WHEREAS, 2017 marks 100 years since New York State signed women's suffrage into law, three years before the United States adopted the 19th Amendment; and

WHEREAS, President Woodrow Wilson called a special session of Congress and on May 21, 1919, the House of Representatives passed a bill calling for a constitutional amendment with the Senate following suit on June 4, 1919; and

WHEREAS, North Dakota ratified the amendment on December 1, 1919, and on August 18, 1920, ratification was completed with approval by the Tennessee General Assembly; and

WHEREAS, the 1920 election became the first United States presidential election in which women were permitted to vote in every state;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Sixty-sixth Legislative Assembly recognizes the 100th anniversary of the ratification of the 19th Amendment to the United States Constitution and urges the Congress of the United States to continue to provide equal rights for women; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.

Speaker of the House	President of the Senate
Chief Clerk of the House	Secretary of the Senate