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Good morning Chairman Owens and members of the House Education Committee. My name is
Rebecca Pitkin and I am the Executive Director of the Education Standards and Practices Board.
I am here today to provide information on the fees associated with an Out-of-State teacher’s
license. ESPB currently charges the same fee for both in-state and out-of-state initial two-year
licenses ($75.00). The difference in charges occurs in the renewal process. For example, a 5 year
in-state renewal is $130.00, and an out-of-state license 5-year renewal is $180.00. These fees
were established as a result of HB 1270, 2011 (attached). Rules written in response to this law
are found in Chapter 67.1-02-06-03. The words “submission of all fee for initial licensure
pursuant to section 67.1-02-02-02” led the 2011 ESPB board to determine the additional fees due
to the needed transcript analysis to ensure the out of state applicant met North Dakota standards

and requirements. The board minutes from 2011 are listed below.

In the board’s efforts to remove potential barriers for out of state applicants, given the current
teacher shortage, the ESPB board at their January 11, 2021 meeting motioned to make the fees

for in-state and out of state the same and to put this in our next administrative rules submission.
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This concludes my testimony and I will answer any questions.

. May 2011 ESPB Minutes: Discussion of HB 1270 (2011)

- Discussion was done regarding HB 1270 other state educator license (OSEL). Janet shared a
letter which was sent to all out-of-state applicants announcing the law change and informing
applicants of two, other-state options; to proceed with the out-of-state license w/transcript
analysis or submit an original/valid license from their state. The fee for the new license will be
$35 a year as required by law; $70 for a two-year and $175 for a five-year. Out-of-state
applicants, who do not have a license from their state, will need to complete the out-of-state
transcript analysis process. The OSEL will become effective July 1, 2011. A motion was made
by Mike Heilman to approve the OSEL license process. Second by Rod Jones. Motion
carried. Board members who voted yes Greg Allen, Nick Archuleta, Mary Eldredge-Sando,
Mike Heilman, Angela Korsmo, Rod Jonas, Amy Mann, Don Paulsrud and Marlene Srock.
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Licensing Fees

The Education and Standards Practices Board does not receive any state tax dollars
and carries out its mandated duties using the license fees provided by North Dakota
educators. Our profession has the authority to set the rules and regulations for
educators but then also has the responsibility of providing the funding.

** Beginning June 1, 2019, every new ESPB application includes a $5 maintenance
Charge

$30

Fmgerprmtmg $44.50
Interim Substitute License - 2 year (as of July 1,2017) ‘ - $8

Imtlal In State 2 Year License
2 Year Renewal L1cense

5 Year License - ) $130

30 Year Life License o s130
Re-entry License o I T T
Alternate Access License . 8I55

Probationary License $55 ’
40 Day Provisional License 855
Transcript Review (only applies to individuals who graduated from institutions |
outside of ND and do not hold a valid teaching license in another state.) ‘
Endorsements ‘
Duphcate License Request
OSEL FEES - only applies to those with an OSEL license (Other State Educator

License)

Initial 2 year OSEL $75

2 Year OSEL R , $75
5Year OSEL B . S0
OSEL Endorsements ... %0

Late Fee Fine for Lapsed License . sw0




67.1-02-06-03. Other state educator license (OSEL).

North Dakota other state educator licensure will be issued to those applicants who hold a regular
teaching license or certificate in early childhood, elementary, middle, or secondary education from
another state and submit the following:

1. A completed application pursuant to section 67.1-02-02-02 for the North Dakota professional

educator's license;

2. Submission to a fingerprint screening for criminal records in accordance with North Dakota

Century Code section 15.1-13-14;
3. Completion and documentation of a four-year bachelor's degree from a state-approved

teacher education program in a North Dakota-recognized program area major, including the
professional education sequence and a student teaching experience, submission of all fees

for initial licensure pursuant to section 67.1-02—(@2; and

4. Documentation of a valid regular professional educator's license from the issuing state.

An applicant who holds a valid out-of-state license who has completed an alternate certification
program will be issued an out-of-state license upon completion of the Praxis I, Praxis Il PLT, and
Praxis Il content specific test.

A license granted under this section is valid for two years if the applicant has not been licensed in
another state for at least eighteen months. If the applicant received a teaching license or certificate
from another state on or after January 1, 2002, and if the issuing state did not require that the individual

pass a state test as a condition of licensure or certification, the board shall require that the individual,
within two years from the date of the license, pass all state licensure tests normally required of

applicants from this state.
In all other cases, a license granted under this section is valid for five years and is renewable if the
licenseholder meets the reeducation requirements established for all five-year license renewals.

A license granted under this section must include all of the applicant's endorsements issued or
recognized by the applicant's other state of licensure.

History: Effective July 1, 2012; amended effective October 1, 2014; October 1, 2020.

General Authority: NDCC 15.1-13-09, 15.1-13-10
Law Implemented: NDCC 15.1-13-08, 15.1-13-10, 15.1-13-11, 15.1-13-14, 15.1-13-25, 15.1-13-26



Sixty-second Legislative Assembly of North Dakota
In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 4, 2011

HOUSE BILL NO. 1270
(Representatives Hawken, R. Kelsch, Mueller)
(Senators Fischer, Freborg, Heckaman)

AN ACT to amend and reenact sections 15.1-13-09 and 15.1-13-20 of the North Dakota Century Code,
relating to the licensing of teachers from other states; and to repeal section 15.1-13-21 of the
North Dakota Century Code, relating to reciprocal teaching licenses.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 15.1-13-09 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and
reenacted as follows:

15.1-13-09. Board powers.
The board may:
1. Adopt rules in accordance with chapter 28-32.

2.

3= Apply for and receive federal or other funds on behalf of the state for purposes related to its
duties.

4-3. Perform any duty related to the improvement of instruction through teacher education,
professional development, and continuing education programs.

SECTION 2. AMENDMENT. Section 15.1-13-20 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and
reenacted as follows:

15.1-13-20. Interim—reciprocal-teaching—license—Period—of—validityApplicants licensed in

other states.

1.  The board shall grant an—interim—reeiproeala teaching license in—aeccerdance—with—sections
454-18-02—and—15-1-18-03to—an—individualio_an applicant who holds a regular teaching
license or certificate from another state, provided:

a. The individualsapplicant's licensure or certification is based upon a minimum of a
bachelor's degree with a major that meets the issuing state's requirements in early
childhood education, elementary education, middle level education, or a content area
taught at a public high school;

b. The individualsapplicant's licensure or certification is based upon the completion of a
professional education sequence from a state-approved teacher education program and
includes supervised student teaching;

c. The individualapplicant submits tethe required fee and a criminal history record check, as
required of initial applicants by this chapter; and

d. The criminal history record check reveals nothing for which a North Dakota applicant
would be denied initial licensurerand.
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A license granted under this section is valid for two vears if the applicant has not been

N
o

licensed in another state for at least eighteen months.

Notwithstanding subdivision a, if the individual received a teaching license or certificate

from another state on or after January 1. 2002, and if the issuing state did not require
that the individual pass a state test as a condition of licensure or certification, the board
shall require that the individual, within two years from the date of licensure, pass all state
licensure tests normally required of applicants from this state.

i

In_all other cases, a license granted under this section is valid for five years and is
renewable if the licenseholder meets the reeducation requirements established for all
five-year license renewals.

[©

SECTION 3. REPEAL. Section 15.1-13-21 of the North Dakota Century Code is repealed.
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Speaker of the House President of the Senate

Chief Clerk of the House Secretary of the Senate

This certifies that the within bill originated in the House of Representatives of the Sixty-second
Legislative Assembly of North Dakota and is known on the records of that body as House Bill No. 1270.

House Vote: Yeas 91 Nays 0 Absent 3
Senate Vote: Yeas 47 Nays 0 Absent 0
Chief Clerk of the House
Received by the Governor at M. on , 2011,
Approved at M. on , 2011.
Governor
Filed in this office this day of , 2011,
at o'clock M.

Secretary of State



