
Senate Appropriations Chair Homberg and Members; 
 
I understand that HB1107 has been referred to your committee for consideration. I wanted to share the 
important and fiscal impact of not approving this bill. Bottom line is HB 1107 keeps North Dakota in line 
with new Federal Law. Without HB 1107 ND will lose tuition from the GI Bill. 
 
On January 5, 2021 President Trump signed into law the 116th US Congress’ HR 7105 Johnny Isakson and 
David P. Roe, M.D. Veterans Health Care and Benefits Improvement Act of 2020 which is now part of 
Public Law 116-315. 
 
This requires that State Approving agencies will disapprove courses in which the tuition and fees are 
higher than the rate the institution charges for residents of the state. 
 
The ND State Approving Agency reviews, approves or disapproves courses in ND Institutes of Higher 
Learning for eligibility of GI Bill. 
 
The VA expended $47,818,000 in Federal Education benefits in ND (2018 & 2019). 

-These courses would be disapproved if tuition is not at state resident rate or less. 
 
See attached Talking Paper by Scott Fuller of NDSU: 
 

TALKING PAPER 
ON 

PROVIDING IN-STATE TUITION TO DEPENDENTS OF VETERANS 
 

- Veterans from other states often inquire whether North Dakota institutions offer in-state 
tuition rates for their dependent children.  Currently, the North Dakota Century Code does not 
allow dependents of non-North Dakota Veterans the in-state tuition rate at state institutions.  
Dependent children (ages 18-26) should be afforded the in-state tuition rate because of the 
unique sacrifices Veterans and their families endure while serving their country.  Dependent 
children of Veterans should be considered a North Dakota resident for tuition purposes, 
regardless of their utilization of transfer of Veteran benefits.  And, North Dakota can continue 
to bolster its reputation as a military friendly state by affording the in-state tuition rate to 
dependents of Veterans from other states.   
 
- The majority of out-of-state students come from Minnesota.  The difference in tuition rates 
between the Minnesota reciprocity rate and the highest North Dakota in-state tuition rate is 
$478/semester or over $900/year.  A student from our other bordering states, Montana and 
South Dakota, would save $795/semester or nearly $1,600/year.  While these potential 
students would save money by using the ND in-state tuition rate, their presence in the state will 
exponentially generate much more revenue for the state over the same period of time.  There 
are several advantages to allowing the in-state tuition rate to dependents from outside the 
state: 
 
    -- Allowing non-North Dakota dependents the in-state tuition rate will improve declining 
attendance rates. 



 
    -- Universities will recoup any loss of tuition revenue by filling vacant dormitories.      
     
    -- The economic impact on North Dakota would be positively affected through increased 
spending on housing, transportation, sales and employment taxes, consumer spending, medical 
expenses, day-to-day living expenses, etc). 
 
    -- Students earning degrees at a North Dakota institutions are more likely to become 
permanent residents, strengthening the North Dakota economy through long term 
employment and raising families. 
 
    -- Future generations of students are likely to attend their parents’ North Dakota alma mater, 
which would continue the cycle of generating revenue and bolstering the North Dakota 
economy.  
 
    -- North Dakota’s reputation as a military friendly state will continue to flourish.     
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