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Robin Rehborg, Deputy Director for Driver Safety
HB 1031

Mr. Chairman and members of the committee - I’'m Robin Rehborg, Deputy Director for Driver
Safety at the North Dakota Department of Transportation (DOT). I am here to provide you
information regarding fees charged by the Department as it pertains to HB1031. Thank you for
your time today.

The DOT’s Driver License and Motor Vehicle Divisions collect funds through fees charged for
services or products provided to the citizens of our state. There are over 100 different fees
collected by these two divisions. The fees charged have been set according to North Dakota
Century Code (NDCC).

The Driver License Division provides identification, licensing, and driver record management
services. A variety of fees are collected for services or products provided and range from a
written test fee to a crash report fee. All funding collected from Driver’s License fees are
deposited into the state Highway Fund per NDCC §39-06.2-19 and §39-06-49.

The Motor Vehicle Division administers programs relating to titling and registration of vehicles
including the motor vehicle excise tax. The division regulates motor vehicle dealers, interstate
motor carriers, mobility-impaired parking privileges, and intrastate household goods carriers. A
variety of fees are collected for different services and products provided, which can range from a
title fee to a special license plate fee. Motor Vehicle fee collections are distributed to various
other funds, but the Motor Vehicle program is funded before collections are distributed to other
areas, per NDCC §39-04-39. For instance, the abandoned vehicle fee required by NDCC §23.1-
15-11 is distributed to the Department of Environmental Quality.
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Most transactions processed by the above-mentioned divisions have multiple fees attached to it.
Here are a couple of examples:

Driver license: A written knowledge test fee is $5, if passed there is also a $15 license/permit fee.
For a total of $20.00. These are completed in the same transaction.



Motor Vehicle: When registering a vehicle there are multiple fees depending on the situation. For
this instance, the entity is tax exempt, but will still pay the following fees:
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Fee Type __Caleulated Amount
Registration Fee 5.00
Title Fee 5.00
Excise Tax 6.00
Unsatisfied Judgment Fee 1.00
Cffice Calculated Totatl

Bismarck 12.50

It would be a complex and time-consuming project for DOT to calculate costs tied to each fee as
described in Section two (a) of this bill. It would take a significant amount of time, requiring
each transaction to be tracked individually to obtain the costs per fee. We have participated in
similar studies in the past and have not been able to develop cost data to the detail required since
most transactions have multiple fees required by multiple sections of statute.

This concludes my testimony. Thank you.



