



Tentative Agenda

25.5108.02000

Revised 5/10/2024

HEALTH CARE COMMITTEE

Thursday, May 30, 2024 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:30 a.m. Call to order Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the January 30, 2024, meeting

REPORTS

9:35 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Douglas D. Nelson, State Fire Marshal, of a report from the State Fire Marshal on the State Fire Marshal's findings and any recommendation for legislation to improve the effectiveness of the law on reduced ignition propensity standards for cigarettes pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Section 18-13-02(6)

10:00 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Christine Greff, Stroke and Cardiac Systems Coordinator, Division of Emergency Medical Systems, Department of Health and Human Services, of a report on the progress made toward recommendations provided in Section 23-43-04 regarding

emergency medical services operations

10:25 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Brianna Monahan, Diabetes Prevention and Control Program Coordinator, Department of Health and Human Services, of a biennial report on the collaboration of the Department of Health and Human Services, Indian Affairs Commission, and Public Employees Retirement System to identify goals and benchmarks while also developing individual agency plans to reduce the incidence of diabetes in the state, improve diabetes care, and control complications associated with diabetes pursuant to Section 23-01-40

PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT STUDY

11:00 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Sarah Aker, Executive Director for Medical Services, Department of Health and Human Services, regarding provider reimbursement for Medicaid program considerations for value-based care metrics in the state

11:45 a.m. Committee discussion

12:00 noon Recess

CONTRACT NURSING STUDY

12:45 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Ms. Nikki Wegner, President, North Dakota Long Term Care Association, regarding contract nursing

1:15 p.m. Committee discussion

PRIOR AUTHORIZATION STUDY

1:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Matthew Farrell, Senior Director, Office of Access Management, Essentia Health, regarding the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services' final rule

on prior authorization

2:15 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Whitney Johnson, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner,

Family HealthCare, and Ms. Kayla Abrahamson, Doctor of Nursing Practice, Northland Health Centers, regarding federally qualified health centers and prior authorization

ricalli Contere, regarding reactaily qualified reaction and prior authorization

3:00 p.m. Break

3:15 p.m. Comments by interested persons

3:30 p.m. Committee discussion

3:45 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Kyle Davison (Chairman), Sean Cleary, Tim Mathern, Kristin Roers

Representatives: Gretchen Dobervich, Clayton Fegley, LaurieBeth Hager, Dawson Holle, Carrie McLeod,

Jon O. Nelson, Emily O'Brien, Karen M. Rohr, Mary Schneider, Greg Stemen, Michelle

Strinden, Robin Weisz

Staff Contact: Beth Dittus, Counsel