

Tentative Agenda

25.5147.02000

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, August 14, 2024 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the March 6, 2024, meeting

9:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Luke Schaefer, Director, Central Regional Education Association,

of a report regarding the activities of the Kindergarten Through Grade Twelve

Education Coordination Council

10:00 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Amanda Peterson, Director, Office of Educational Improvement

and Support, Department of Public Instruction, of a report regarding the implementation

of intervention measures for chronically low-performing schools

10:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Joe Kolosky, Director, Office of School Approval and Opportunity,

Department of Public Instruction, of a biennial report regarding proposals to allow students enrolled in grades 6 through 12 to earn course credit through educational

opportunities with a sponsoring entity

10:45 a.m. Presentation by Senator Michelle Axtman, Chairman, regarding the Hunt Institute's

work on the school choice models study

11:00 a.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

11:30 a.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Michelle Axtman (Chairman), Todd Beard, Cole Conley, Jay Elkin, Judy Estenson, Justin Gerhardt, Kent Weston

Representatives: LaurieBeth Hager, Patrick Hatlestad, Dori Hauck, Pat D. Heinert, Jim Jonas, Donald W.

Longmuir, Andrew Marschall, David Monson, Eric James Murphy, Mitch Ostlie, David

Richter, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck, Kelby Timmons

Staff Contact: Liz Fordahl, Counsel