Sixty-eighth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## **SENATE BILL NO. 2165**

Introduced by

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

Senators Patten, Kannianen, Kessel

Representatives Bosch, Novak, Porter

- 1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact subsection 5 of section 17-07-01 of the North Dakota
- 2 Century Code, relating to duties of the energy policy commission; to provide an appropriation;
- 3 and to provide for a transfer.for an Act to amend and reenact section 54-63.1-03 of the North
- 4 Dakota Century Code, relating to membership of the clean sustainable energy authority.

## BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Subsection 5 of section 17-07-01 of the North Dakota Century

Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

5. The commission may identify and make recommendations to the clean sustainable energy authority on technologies related to low-emission advancements. The recommendations may include consideration of advancements or developments that have led to increased economic benefits and positive environmental public healthbenefits for the citizens and visitors of North Dakota, including cleaner air, soil, and water; improved efficiencies; reduction of waste; lower carbon-intensive agriculturalproducts or processes; and quantities of energy used. The recommendations also may consider other factors, including environmental, social, and governance policies and the effect on financial or capital markets. The commission shall consider and makerecommendations on policies to ensure the availability of affordable, reliable, resilient, and sustainable energy in the state; to expand value-added energy; and to expand the opportunities to diversify the use of North Dakota's natural resources, which may increase state tax revenues. The commission shall study and evaluate critical energyinfrastructure and shall make recommendations to ensure the state's comprehensiveenergy policy supports electrical grid reliability and resiliency and supports sufficient dispatchable generation capacity to avoid brownouts, blackouts, or outages. The

1	
2	
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	

30

31

commission shall monitor the progress of implementing and achieving environmental benefits through the state's comprehensive energy policy.

## SECTION 2. APPROPRIATION - TRANSFER - CLEAN SUSTAINABLE ENERGY FUND.

There is appropriated out of any moneys in the general fund in the state treasury, not otherwise appropriated, the sum of \$300,000,000, or so much of the sum as may be necessary, to the office of management and budget to be transferred to the clean sustainable energy fund for the purpose of repaying any outstanding balance to the Bank of North Dakota line of credit as authorized by section 54-63.1-07 or to fund loans authorized by the clean sustainable energy authority, for the biennium beginning July 1, 2023, and ending June 30, 2025. Up to \$50,000,000 of the funds may be used to provide grants as determined by the clean sustainable energy authority during the biennium beginning July 1, 2023, and ending June 30, 2025.

**SECTION 1. AMENDMENT.** Section 54-63.1-03 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

## 54-63.1-03. Clean sustainable energy authority - Membership - Meetings.

- The clean sustainable energy authority consists of sixteen seventeen members, including eightnine voting members and eight nonvoting technical advisors.
- 2. The eightnine voting members consist of:
  - a. One member Two members, one from the senate and one from the house of representatives, appointed by the legislative management to serve as chairman co-chairmen;
  - b. Two members appointed by the lignite research council;
  - c. Two members appointed by the oil and gas research council;
  - d. Two members appointed by the renewable energy council; and
  - e. One member appointed by the western Dakota energy association.
- 3. The eight nonvoting technical advisors consist of:
  - a. One member appointed by the North Dakota outdoor heritage fund advisory board;
  - b. The commissioner of commerce or the commissioner's designee;
  - c. The director of the department of environmental quality or the director's designee;
  - d. The director of mineral resources or the director's designee;
  - e. The director of the North Dakota pipeline authority or the director's designee;

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

- f. The director of the North Dakota transmission authority or the director's designee;
- g. The director of the state energy research center or the director's designee; and
- h. The president of the Bank of North Dakota or the president's designee.
- 4. The term of office for the chairman each co-chairman is two years. The term of office for the other voting members is four years, and the other voting members may not serve more than two consecutive terms. The terms of office for the voting members commence on July first. The initial terms for the voting members of the authority must be staggered following a method determined by the authority.
- 5. The authority shall meet at least semiannually. The <a href="mailto:chairman.co-chairmen">chairman.co-chairmen</a> shall call a meeting upon written request from three voting members of the authority. Five voting members is a quorum at any meeting.
- 6. The authority may not forward a recommendation to the commission unless the recommendation fulfills the purposes of this chapter and is approved by a majority of the voting members of the authority.