Sixty-eighth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 3, 2023

SENATE BILL NO. 2165 (Senators Patten, Kannianen, Kessel) (Representatives Bosch, Novak, Porter)

AN ACT to amend and reenact section 54-63.1-03 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to membership of the clean sustainable energy authority.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 54-63.1-03 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

54-63.1-03. Clean sustainable energy authority - Membership - Meetings.

- 1. The clean sustainable energy authority consists of <u>sixteenseventeen</u> members, including <u>eightnine</u> voting members and eight nonvoting technical advisors.
- 2. The eightnine voting members consist of:
 - a. One member<u>Two members, one from the senate and one from the house of representatives</u>, appointed by the legislative management to serve as chairman<u>co-chairmen</u>;
 - b. Two members appointed by the lignite research council;
 - c. Two members appointed by the oil and gas research council;
 - d. Two members appointed by the renewable energy council; and
 - e. One member appointed by the western Dakota energy association.
- 3. The eight nonvoting technical advisors consist of:
 - a. One member appointed by the North Dakota outdoor heritage fund advisory board;
 - b. The commissioner of commerce or the commissioner's designee;
 - c. The director of the department of environmental quality or the director's designee;
 - d. The director of mineral resources or the director's designee;
 - e. The director of the North Dakota pipeline authority or the director's designee;
 - f. The director of the North Dakota transmission authority or the director's designee;
 - g. The director of the state energy research center or the director's designee; and
 - h. The president of the Bank of North Dakota or the president's designee.
- 4. The term of office for the chairmaneach co-chairman is two years. The term of office for the other voting members is four years, and the other voting members may not serve more than two consecutive terms. The terms of office for the voting members commence on July first. The initial terms for the voting members of the authority must be staggered following a method determined by the authority.

- 5. The authority shall meet at least semiannually. The <u>chairmanco-chairmen</u> shall call a meeting upon written request from three voting members of the authority. Five voting members is a quorum at any meeting.
- 6. The authority may not forward a recommendation to the commission unless the recommendation fulfills the purposes of this chapter and is approved by a majority of the voting members of the authority.

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

Secretary of the Senate

Chief Clerk of the House

This certifies that the within bill originated in the Senate of the Sixty-eighth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota and is known on the records of that body as Senate Bill No. 2165.

Senate Vote:	Yeas 40	Nays 6	Absent 1		
House Vote:	Yeas 93	Nays 0	Absent 1		
				Secretary of the Senate	
Received by the	Governor at	M. on			, 2023.
Approved at	M. on				, 2023.
				Governor	

Filed in this office this	day of	, 202	3,
	-		

at _____ o'clock _____M.

Secretary of State