Sixty-eighth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 3, 2023

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3006 (Representatives Steiner, B. Anderson, D. Anderson, Lefor, J. Olson, Porter) (Senators Bekkedahl, Elkin, Hogue, Kannianen, Patten, Rummel)

A concurrent resolution urging Congress to support policies to increase oil refining capacity in the United States.

WHEREAS, rising gasoline, diesel, and jet fuel prices are contributing to high fuel prices due to high crude oil prices, and the shortage of oil refinery capacity has applied upward pressure on the cost of refined petroleum products; and

WHEREAS, global oil refinery capacity is over 3,000,000 barrels per day below prepandemic levels and domestic refining capacity in the United States is approximately 1,000,000 barrels per day below prepandemic capacity; and

WHEREAS, in 2020, a refinery in Convent, Louisiana, capable of refining 211,146 barrels of oil per day was powered down due to low demand, another company closed its refinery in Pennsylvania after an explosion, and some refineries that were idled during the pandemic are being permanently decommissioned; and

WHEREAS, annual inflation in the United States has reached 8.6 percent, the highest rate since December 1981, gasoline prices increased 48.7 percent in July 2022, and fuel oil prices increased 106.7 percent in July 2022, the largest increase on record; and

WHEREAS, increasing oil refining capacity, pipeline easement approvals, and federal land leasing will promote increased domestic oil production and lessen the United States' dependence on foreign oil sources while increasing supply at a lower cost to consumers;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Legislative Assembly urges the Congress to support policies that increase refining capacity in the United States; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to all members of Congress and the President of the United States.

Speaker of the House

President of the Senate

Chief Clerk of the House

Secretary of the Senate