Sixty-eighth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 3, 2023

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4015 (Senators Hogan, Cleary)

- A concurrent resolution recognizing the 25th anniversary of the ratification of the Good Friday Agreement that provided the framework for lasting peace in Northern Ireland and celebrating the flag of Ireland as a symbol of peace and a link between the United States and Ireland.
- **WHEREAS**, 2023 marks the 25th anniversary of the ratification of the Good Friday Agreement reached on April 10, 1998; and
- WHEREAS, while there are some outstanding issues, the Good Friday Agreement has been a considerable success which saved lives as a result of the continuous bipartisan support for the Good Friday Agreement by state legislators, successive United States Presidents, the United States Senate, United States House of Representatives, and elected officials working in partnership with the Government of the United Kingdom and the Government of Ireland; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Good Friday Agreement represented a landmark breakthrough that provided Ireland with a political framework to address its future; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Good Friday Agreement acknowledged the right of individuals with differing political traditions to pursue their goals of remaining part of the United Kingdom or of the Irish Unity; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Good Friday Agreement demonstrated democratic and peaceful means of resolving differences; and
- **WHEREAS**, the British and Irish Governments' ongoing support and implementation of the Good Friday Agreement is commendable, regardless of the United Kingdom's status regarding the European Union; and
- WHEREAS, despite the historic progress that resulted from the Good Friday Agreement and subsequent agreements, important issues remain unresolved in Northern Ireland, including securing justice for victims of state-sponsored violence and other violence and providing for the rights of all sections of the community; and
- **WHEREAS**, members of both political parties in the United States came together to support the Good Friday Agreement; and
- **WHEREAS**, on the 17th of March during the annual celebration of the feast of Saint Patrick, the patron saint of Ireland, Irish Americans join with men, women, and children of all ethnic origins for one day becoming Irish and celebrating Saint Patrick and this year we also celebrate and give thanks for the 25th anniversary of the Good Friday Agreement; and
- **WHEREAS**, 2023 also marks the 175th anniversary of the first flying of the Irish flag by Thomas F. Meagher who embodied the links between Ireland and the United States of America; and
- WHEREAS, Thomas F. Meagher ran for election to the City Council in Waterford, Ireland, led the rebellion for freedom from British rule in Ireland in 1848, was sentenced to death, which was commuted to transportation for life in prison in Australia, from where he escaped, became a brigadier general in the 69th Regiment of the famous 'Fighting Irish Brigade' and fought in some of the bloodiest battles of the American Civil War, including Fredericksburg and Antietam, became a friend of President Abraham Lincoln, and went on to become the acting territorial governor of Montana, dying under mysterious circumstances at the age of 43;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Sixty-eighth Legislative Assembly recognizes the 25th anniversary of the ratification of the Good Friday Agreement that provided the framework for lasting peace in Northern Ireland and celebrates the flag of Ireland as a symbol of peace and a link between the United States and Ireland; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation; Senator Mark Daly, Chair of the Senate of Ireland; and to the National co-chairs of the American Irish State Legislators Caucus: Assemblywoman Carol Murphy, New Jersey; Assemblyman Robin Vos, Wisconsin; Senator Shannon O'Brien, Montana; Representative Brian Patrick Kennedy, Rhode Island; Assemblyman James Gallagher, California; Representative Fran Hurley, Illinois; and Representative Killian Timoney, Kentucky.

President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
Socretory of the Socreto	Chief Clerk of the House
Secretary of the Senate	Chief Clerk of the House