

North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick President 1929 N. Washington Steet. Ste.A Bismarck, ND 58501 Brandt.Dick@k12.nd.us 701-415-0441 Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

HB 1362– Testimony in Support with Changes House Human Services Committee Representative Weisz – Chairman January 30, 2023

Chairman Weisz and members of the House Human Services Committee, my name is Michael Heilman. I am the Executive Director of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools (NDSOS). I represent 154-member school districts of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools.

Like NDCEL we too agree with most of this bill and support the amendments proposed by Dr. Copas. NDSOS believes that the primary stakeholder in the education of a child, is the child and the parents of that child. Those same parents that reside in the local school districts and elect their local school board members. We feel the intent of section 4 of this bill could undermine that local authority. That may not be the intent of the bill, but if it is interpreted in that manner, it would seem local school board no longer have any authority and serve no purpose. Local school boards are charged with running local schools within the parameters set by this body and with support and oversight from the Department of Public Instruction. NDSOS believe and supports that structure. We also believe that the current structure ensures decisions impacting parents and children in local school districts is best made by local school boards and the people that elect them.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701.527.4621

Region 1

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley Mr. John Gruenberg, Supt. Powers Lake

Region 4

Mr. Brian Christopherson, Supt. New Salem Dr. Kelly Peters, Supt. Richardton-Taylor **Board of Directors**

Region 2

Mr. Jeff Hagler, Supt. North Star Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

Region 5

Mr. Rick Diegel, Supt. Kidder Co. Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Burleigh County Region 3

Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. David Wheeler, Supt. Manvel

Region 6

Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Lisbon