## **Testimony**



## Senate Bill 2020 Senate Appropriations Committee – Education and Environment Division January 19, 2023

Chairman Sorvaag and members of the Senate Appropriations Committee – Education and Environment Division. The Valley Prosperity Partnership (VPP) is a membership organization led by business executives – joined by leaders from higher education, economic development, and chambers of commerce – to advance and advocate for shared strategic economic development opportunities that will strengthen and diversify the Red River Valley region and the entirety of North Dakota.

The Red River Valley Water Supply Project (RRVWSP) is a top priority for the VPP because it is of critical importance to the economic well-being of the region's businesses and residents. Without the certainty of an adequate water supply, companies may restrain their growth, expand elsewhere, or choose to relocate. Companies from outside the region looking for a new location may take cities and counties in the Valley off their short list of potential sites. The economic impact would be especially disastrous in the event of an extended drought, with losses in that scenario now estimated to reach as high as \$25 billion. Simply put, the strength of our economy relies on a steady and reliable supply of water.

The VPP greatly appreciates previous State investments in the RRVWSP. Timely additional investments are needed, as an expedited construction schedule reduces the risk of ongoing cost increases, and the uncertainty of water shortages looms large on the horizon. Therefore, the VPP respectfully requests that your committee consider "accelerated funding" for the RRVWSP.

## **Valley Prosperity Partnership Steering Committee**

Brian Johnson, CEO, Choice Bank, Co-Chair Valley Prosperity Partnership\*

Judd Graham, Market President Dacotah Bank - Fargo Co-Chair Valley Prosperity Partnership\*

Jonathan Holth, JLG Architects Vice Co-Chair\*

Marshal Albright, President & CEO Cass County Electric Cooperative,

Andrew Armacost, President University of North Dakota

Steve Burian, President & CEO Burian & Associates

Dan Conrad, President & CEO Blue Cross Blue Shield North Dakota

David Cook, President North Dakota State University

Tim Curoe, CEO RD Offutt Company

Mylo Einarson, President & CEO Nodak Electric Cooperative

Chad Flanagan, Partner Eide Bailly

Rod Flanigan, President North Dakota State College of Science

Todd Forkel, CEO Altru Health System

Shannon Full, President/CEO Fargo Moorhead West Fargo Chamber of Commerce\*

Shawn Gaddie, Director of Infrastructure Management Services, AE2S AE2S Jim Galloway, Principal JLG Architects

Kevin Hanson, President & CEO Gate City Bank

Tiffany Lawrence, CEO & President Sanford Fargo

Keith Lund, President & CEO Grand Forks Region EDC\*

William C. Marcil, Sr. Chairman Forum Communications Company

Pat McAdaragh, President & CEO Midco

Jeff Melgaard, Vice President Construction Engineers

Tammy Peterson, Grand Forks Region President & Ag Banking Director Bremer Bank

Joe Raso, President & CEO Greater Fargo Moorhead EDC\*

Jim Roers, President & CEO Roers Construction & Development

Richard Solberg, Chairman & CEO Bell State Bank & Trust

David White, President Border States Electric

Barry Wilfahrt, President & CEO The Chamber Grand Forks/East Grand Forks\*

Chris Wolf, North Valley Market President Alerus Financial

Delore Zimmerman, Executive Director\*

<sup>\*</sup> Member Executive Committee