

North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick President 1929 N. Washington Steet. Ste.A Bismarck, ND 58501 Brandt.Dick@k12.nd.us 701-415-0441 Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

SB 2258 Testimony in Support Senate Education Committee Senator Elkin – Chairperson January 23, 2023

Senator Elkin and members of the Senate Education Committee, my name is Michael Heilman. I am the Executive Director of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools (NDSOS). I represent 150-member school districts of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools. NDSOS stands in support SB 2258.

SB 2258 provides another avenue for our schools to put qualified teachers in our classrooms. Most schools are advertising and hiring teachers for the following year in the spring and early summer. The provisions within the bill related to critical shortage area and delaying the use of this bill's provisions until after August should ensure that qualified, new to the field educators, have a priority before returning a retired teacher to the classroom.

The teacher shortage is real in large and small schools and the pool of qualified teachers continues to shrink. Teachers moving from smaller schools to larger school is not new. What is new, is large schools finding it difficult to fill position and the smaller schools pool of eligible teachers to fill open positions has gone from a small number to no candidates in many cases. We understand that this may not be the final version of this bill or others like it but, NDSOS supports this effort and others that are designed to mitigate the teacher shortage issue.

North Dakota Small Organized Schools supports a do pass recommendation for SB 2258. Thank you, Chairman Elkin and members of the committee. I will stand for questions.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701.527.4621

Region 1

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley
Mr. John Gruenberg, Supt. Powers Lake

Region 4

Mr. Brian Christopherson, Supt. New Salem Dr. Kelly Peters, Supt. Richardton-Taylor

Board of Directors

Region 2

Mr. Jeff Hagler, Supt. North Star Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

Region 5

Mr. Rick Diegel, Supt. Kidder Co. Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Burleigh County

Region 3

Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. David Wheeler, Supt. Manvel

Region 6

Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Lisbon