Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 7, 2025

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3007 (Representatives Dockter, Heinert, Martinson, Porter, M. Ruby) (Senators Axtman, Bekkedahl, Gerhardt, Meyer)

A concurrent resolution urging Congress to recognize United States troops who served in Honduras from 1981 to 1992.

WHEREAS, the Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly believes military members and veterans who serve or have served in hostile environments should be recognized; and

WHEREAS, the United States military maintained a presence in Honduras throughout the 1980s and 1990s, providing training and conducting military exercises with the host nation; and

WHEREAS, the presence of the United States troops served as a deterrent to aggression in the region and as a means of support for democratic values through civil action in Honduran communities; and

WHEREAS, United States troops were equipped with live ammunition and assisted the Honduran military in training and combat support; and

WHEREAS, United States troops experienced hostile fire and imminent danger; and

WHEREAS, at least one United States service member received a purple heart because of terrorist activity; and

WHEREAS, United States troops lost their lives while in Honduras due to terrorist activity and hazardous circumstances;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly urges Congress to issue an Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal, or similar recognition of having served in an area of hostility, to all United States troops who served in Honduras from 1981 to 1992; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to the Majority and Minority Leaders of the United States Senate, the Majority and Minority Leaders of the United States House of Representatives, and to each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.

Speaker of the House

President of the Senate

Chief Clerk of the House

Secretary of the Senate