Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 7, 2025

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3024 (Representative Kempenich)

A concurrent resolution urging the United States Congress to transfer the management of all national grassland property within the state from the United States Forest Service to the Natural Resources Conservation Service.

WHEREAS, North Dakota is home to over 1 million acres of land within national grasslands administered by the United States Forest Service; and

WHEREAS, the United States Forest Service provides sustainable management, conservation, use, and stewardship of natural and cultural resources in national forests in the United States; and

WHEREAS, the Bankhead-Jones Farm Tenant Act [50 Stat. 522, 7 U.S.C. 1010, et seq.], which created the national grasslands, was intended to assist in controlling soil erosion, reforestation, preserving natural resources, developing and protecting recreational facilities, mitigating floods, developing energy resources, conserving surface and surface moisture, protecting the watersheds of navigable streams, and protecting public lands; and

WHEREAS, the Natural Resources Conservation Service assists local operations to sustain productive agricultural lands and improve the quality of air, water, soil, and habitat; and

WHEREAS, the mission of the Natural Resources Conservation Service is closely aligned to implement the intent of the Bankhead-Jones Farm Tenant Act and manage the national grasslands within this state:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly urges Congress to transfer the management of all national grassland lands within the state from the United States Forest Service to the Natural Resources Conservation Service; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution to the President of the United States, the Secretary of the Interior, and each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.

Speaker of the House	President of the Senate
Chief Clerk of the House	Secretary of the Senate