## Sixty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 7, 2025

## SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 8001 (Memorial Resolutions Committee)

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:

Dwight Cook, who served in the 55<sup>th</sup> through the 66<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 34, died January 7, 2024;

Judy Lee DeMers, who served in the 48<sup>th</sup> through the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 17-18, and in the 53<sup>rd</sup> through the 56<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, died March 12, 2024;

Richard Wayne Goldberg, who served in the 40<sup>th</sup> through the 43<sup>rd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 21, died July 18, 2023;

Daniel Fred Jerome, who served in the 52<sup>nd</sup> and 53<sup>rd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 9, died May 25, 2024;

Douglas Allen Larsen, who served in the 67<sup>th</sup> and 68<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 34, died October 1, 2023;

Donald B. Moore, who served in the 42<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assembly and in the 47<sup>th</sup> through the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 28, died November 30, 2023;

David E. "Dave" Nething, who served in the 40<sup>th</sup> through the 44<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 29, in the 45<sup>th</sup> through the 57<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 48, and in the 58<sup>th</sup> through the 62<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 12, died December 2, 2024;

Randy A. Schobinger, who served in the 54<sup>th</sup> through the 59<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 3, and in the 65<sup>th</sup> through the 68<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 40, died August 13, 2024;

Herbert A. "Herb" Urlacher, who served in the 51<sup>st</sup> and 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 38, and in the 53<sup>rd</sup> through the 60<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 36, died October 29, 2023; and

WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former Senate colleagues and to honor their memories; and

**WHEREAS**, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contributions to public service;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the Senate and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of these deceased Senators.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate

Filed in this office this \_\_\_\_\_\_day of \_\_\_\_\_\_, 2025,

at \_\_\_\_\_ o'clock \_\_\_\_\_M.

Secretary of State