

North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman **Executive Director** 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504

mheilmanndsos@gmail.com

701-527-4621

1929 N. Washington Steet. Ste.A Bismarck, ND 58501 Brandt.Dick@k12.nd.us

701-415-0441

Mr. Brandt Dick

President

Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

- 1 Testimony in Opposition to HB 1472
- 2 Chairman Heinert and members of the House Education Committee
- 3 My name is Michael Heilman, I am the Executive Director of North Dakota Small Organized Schools. The
- 140+ schools that are members of NDSOS stand in opposition to HB 1472, which seeks to provide 4
- 5 provision in statute for the establishment of micro-schools.
- 6 I represent the 16 current micro schools that exist in the state of North Dakota. Schools like Menoken,
- 7 Fort Yates #4, Lone Tree #6, Sweet Briar, Kensal, Zeeland, Litte Heart, Sterling, Naughton, Manning, Ft.
- 8 Ranson, Horse Creek, and Marmarth. Schools that struggle to exist due to funding shortfall and frankly
- 9 that some might suggest are too small to exist. Yet, they are all public schools that the local elected
- 10 school boards are working to maintain for the benefit of the children and the communities they serve.
- 11 These small public schools must follow all the rule and regulations that are set forth by the state and the
- 12 department of public instructions. Rules and statutes that are designed ensure the safety and well-being
- 13 of our children. Rules like
 - 1. Teachers must be certified by the Educational Standards and practices board.
- 2. Criminal background checks for employees 15
- 3. Childcare and facilities rules like fire codes, health codes and food services regulations. 16
- 17 4. All other statues and rules of the State of ND and DPI that govern our schools.
- These schools and the additional 20 that are just slightly larger would welcome the enrollment of any 18
- 19 child. This law simply is not necessary, will divert funding from our current public schools that follow
- 20 state statues, and in turn fund home education with public dollars.
- 21 NDSOS urges a do not pass on HB 1472.
- 22 Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director
- 23 North Dakota Small Organized Schools
- 24 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com
- 25 701.527.4621

26

14

Board of Directors

Region 2

Mr. Monte Mayer, Supt. Velva Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

Region 4

Region 1

Mr. Kris Kuehn, Supt. Ray

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley

Mr. Brian Christopherson, Supt. New Salem Mr. Russ Ziegler, Supt. Elgin-New Leipzig

Region 5

Mr. Rick Diegel, Supt. Kidder Co. Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Burleigh County

Region 3

Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. David Wheeler, Supt. Manvel

Region 6

Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Ft. Ranson