

North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick President 1929 N. Washington Steet. Ste.A Bismarck, ND 58501 Brandt.Dick@k12.nd.us 701-415-0441 Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

Testimony in Support of HB 1105

Chairman Beard and members of the Senate Education Committee. The North Dakota Center for Distance Education (ND CDE) is a critical partner for NDSOS members and for all schools in North Dakota. NDCDE has a long history of providing quality service to school districts and their students. I stand in support of ND CDE and this legislation. This legislation is needed to ensure that school districts are involved and work in concert the ND CDE to best serve students and parents when making educational choices.

HB 1105 also clarifies what most believed was the intent of legislation passed in the 2023 legislative session by avoiding unnecessary duplication and associated cost of taking virtual courses, especially when the course is offered by the local school district. HB 1105 also allows schools to develop policy that may place fiscal responsibility on the student and parent for costs of virtual instruction when classes are failed, and yet requires the school pay for virtual instruction if the district does not offer a course that would contribute to on time graduation.

NDSOS supports this legislation and believes it address what was the intent of the legislation passed during the 2023 session.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com 701.527.4621

Region 1

Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley Mr. Kris Kuehn, Supt. Ray

Region 4

Mr. Brian Christopherson, Supt. New Salem Mr. Russ Ziegler, Supt. Elgin-New Leipzig

Board of Directors

Region 2

Dr. Kelly Peters, Supt. Lakota Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

Region 5

Mr. Rick Diegel, Supt. Kidder Co. Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Burleigh County

Region 3

Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. David Wheeler, Supt. Manvel

Region 6

Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Ft. Ranson