

Testimony Senate Education Committee HOUSE BILL NO. 1265 March 17, 2025

Chairman Beard and members of the Senate Education Committee. The Valley Prosperity Partnership (VPP) is a membership organization led by business executives – joined by economic development, chamber of commerce, and higher education leaders – to advance and advocate for shared strategic economic development opportunities for the Red River Valley region and for North Dakota.

The VPP supports House Bill 1265's establishment of a state information technology research center to conduct exploratory, transformational, and innovative research to promote the development of data science, data analysis, software engineering, and advanced information technology in the state.

This research center is very important for North Dakota to remain competitive in key sectors of our economy and is vital for innovation in economic opportunities yet to come. The VPP is particularly in support of efforts to:

- Assist in the development of advanced technology solutions, including artificial intelligence, machine learning, quantum computing, digital literacy, and cybersecurity initiatives.
- 2. Encourage the establishment of data centers in the state to enhance advanced technology products and initiatives.

Thank you for your consideration.

Valley Prosperity Partnership Steering Committee

Chris Wolf, North Valley Market President, Alerus Financial*

Mike McLean, Principal JLG Architects Vice Co-Chair*

Shannon Roers Jones Roers Construction & Development Vice Co-Chair*

Andrew Armacost, President University of North Dakota

Paige E. Bjornson, Northern Region President. Dacotah Bank

Steve Burian, President & CEO Burian & Associates

Dan Conrad, President & CEO Blue Cross Blue Shield North Dakota

David Cook, President North Dakota State University

Tim Curoe, CEO RD Offutt Company

Mylo Einarson, President & CEO Nodak Electric Cooperative

Chad Flanagan, Partner Eide Bailly

Rod Flanigan, President North Dakota State College of Science

Todd Forkel, CEO Altru Health System

Shannon Full, President/CEO Fargo Moorhead West Fargo Chamber of Commerce* Shawn Gaddie, Director of Infrastructure Management Services, AE2S

Kevin Hanson, President & CEO Gate City Bank

Brian Johnson, CEO, Choice Bank, Co-Chair Valley Prosperity Partnership*

Tiffany Lawrence, CEO & President Sanford Fargo

Keith Lund, President & CEO Grand Forks Region EDC*

William C. Marcil, Sr. Chairman Forum Communications Company

Paul Matthy, CEO Cass County Electric Cooperative

Pat McAdaragh, President & CEO Midco

Jeff Melgaard, Vice President Construction Engineers

Joe Raso, President & CEO Greater Fargo Moorhead EDC*

Jason Seger, President Border States Electric

Barry Wilfahrt, President & CEO The Chamber Grand Forks/East Grand Forks*

Delore Zimmerman, Executive Director*