

North Dakota Small Organized Schools

Mr. Michael Heilman Executive Director 3144 Hampton Street Bismarck, ND 58504 <u>mheilmanndsos@gmail.com</u> 701-527-4621 Mr. Brandt Dick President 1929 N. Washington Steet. Ste.A Bismarck, ND 58501 Brandt.Dick@k12.nd.us 701-415-0441 Mr. Steven Heim Vice-President PO Box 256 Drake, ND 58736 Steve.heim@k12.nd.us 701-465-3732

Testimony in support of HB 1476

Chairman Beard and members of the Senate Education committee, thank you for the opportunity to testify today in support of HB 1476.

HB 1476 is a necessary step toward ensuring that our students, teachers, and staff have safe, functional, and well-maintained learning environments. By requiring regular assessments of school buildings, this bill provides a comprehensive approach to tracking the condition of critical infrastructure, including heating and cooling systems, fire protection, security features, and accessibility for students with disabilities.

Public schools are a cornerstone of our communities, and their facilities must be adequately maintained to support student success. Without a system to consistently assess and document facility needs, schools may struggle to secure necessary funding for repairs and improvements. HB 1476 ensures that decision-makers have accurate data to prioritize resources effectively and address urgent infrastructure concerns before they become costly emergencies. By implementing a standardized assessment system, North Dakota can take a more strategic and transparent approach to facility management, ultimately benefiting students, educators, and taxpayers alike.

For these reasons, I urge the committee to support HB 1476 and advance this important investment in the future of our public schools.

Mr. Michael Heilman – Executive Director North Dakota Small Organized Schools mheilmanndsos@gmail.com

Region 1 Mr. Tim Holte, Supt. Stanley Mr. Kris Kuehn, Supt. Ray Board of Directors Region 2 Dr. Kelly Peters, Supt. Lakota Mr. Steven Heim, Anamoose & Drake

Region 3 Dr. Frank Schill, Supt. Edmore Mr. David Wheeler, Supt. Manvel

Region 6 Mr. Mitch Carlson, Supt. LaMoure Dr. Steven Johnson, Supt. Ft. Ranson

Region 4 Mr. Brian Christopherson, Supt. New Salem Mr. Russ Ziegler, Supt. Elgin-New Leipzig

Region 5 Mr. Rick Diegel, Supt. Kidder Co. Mr. Brandt Dick, Supt. Burleigh County

The mission of NDSOS is to provide leadership for the small/rural schools in North Dakota and to support legislation favorable to their philosophy while opposing legislation that is harmful.