

## Testimony Senate Industry and Business Committee House Bill 1448 April 1, 2025

Chairman Barta and members of the Senate Industry and Business Committee. The Valley Prosperity Partnership (VPP) is a membership organization led by business executives – joined by economic development, chamber of commerce, and higher education leaders – to advance and advocate for shared strategic economic development opportunities for the Red River Valley region and for North Dakota.

The VPP supports House Bill 1448's establishment of grant program to advance technology product research, development, and innovation, and to the extent possible, leverage state, federal, and private sources of funding.

Entrepreneurs, startup companies, and small businesses are often unable to access financial resources for the initial phases of advanced technology product research, development, and innovation. Raising capital for prototype development, an important part of advancing new or improved technologies, can also be a challenge.

The advanced technology review committee that is created by the bill is comprised of individuals that possess the experience and expertise to evaluate a broad range of technologies in multiple sectors, thereby ensuring the program's effectiveness and impact.

The VPP thanks your committee for its consideration of this important legislation and recommends that funds are appropriated for its implementation. This program can help to diversify and move our economy into the future for the benefit of all citizens of North Dakota.

## Valley Prosperity Partnership Steering Committee

Chris Wolf, North Valley Market President, Alerus Financial\*

Mike McLean, Principal JLG Architects Vice Co-Chair\*

Shannon Roers Jones Roers Construction & Development Vice Co-Chair\*

Andrew Armacost, President University of North Dakota

Paige E. Bjornson, Northern Region President. Dacotah Bank

Steve Burian, President & CEO Burian & Associates

Dan Conrad, President & CEO Blue Cross Blue Shield North Dakota

David Cook, President North Dakota State University

Tim Curoe, CEO RD Offutt Company

Mylo Einarson, President & CEO Nodak Electric Cooperative

Chad Flanagan, Partner Eide Bailly

Rod Flanigan, President North Dakota State College of Science

Todd Forkel, CEO Altru Health System

Shannon Full, President/CEO Fargo Moorhead West Fargo Chamber of Commerce\* Shawn Gaddie, Director of Infrastructure Management Services, AE2S

Kevin Hanson, President & CEO Gate City Bank

Brian Johnson, CEO, Choice Bank, Co-Chair Valley Prosperity Partnership\*

Tiffany Lawrence, CEO & President Sanford Fargo

Keith Lund, President & CEO Grand Forks Region EDC\*

William C. Marcil, Sr. Chairman Forum Communications Company

Paul Matthy, CEO Cass County Electric Cooperative

Pat McAdaragh, President & CEO Midco

Jeff Melgaard, Vice President Construction Engineers

Joe Raso, President & CEO Greater Fargo Moorhead EDC\*

Jason Seger, President Border States Electric

Barry Wilfahrt, President & CEO The Chamber Grand Forks/East Grand Forks\*

Delore Zimmerman, Executive Director\*