### SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTIONS

### SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION No. 1 (Holand and Vendsel)

#### CONDOLENCE TO SENATOR R. E. MEIDINGER

A resolution of condolence to R. E. Meidinger in the loss of his wife.

Whereas, Almighty God in His infinite wisdom has called from our midst the wife of Senator R. E. Meidinger, and

Whereas, she was a devoted wife and mother and respected and loved by all who knew her, and her untimely passing is not only a great personal loss to her family, but to all her friends and acquaintances.

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved by the Senate of the Thirty-sixth Legislative Assembly of the State of North Dakota, assembled this 11th day of February, 1959, that we do hereby express and extend to the family of Senator R. E. Meidinger our deep sympathy and condolence in this hour of sorrow; and

Be It Further Resolved, that the secretary of the Senate be instructed to prepare an enrolled copy of this resolution to be forwarded to Senator R. E. Meidinger and his family, at Jamestown, North Dakota, immediately by special delivery mail.

Filed February 11, 1959.

## SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION No. 2 (Senate Memorial Resolutions Committee)

### MEMORIAL TO DECEASED MEMBERS OF THE SENATE

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of the state of North Dakota.

Whereas, since the adjournment of the Thirty-fifth Legislative Assembly, God in His wisdom has seen fit to summon to enternal rest His servants and our former colleagues:

Frank H. Beaton, who served in the twenty-fifth session of the legislative assembly in the house of representatives and who, subsequently, served as a member of the senate in the twenty-sixth to the twenty-ninth legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the tenth legislative district, died March 30, 1957.

Oliver E. Bilden, who served in the twenty-fourth session of the legislative assembly in the house of representatives and who, subsequently, served as a member of the senate in the twenty-fifth to the thirty-fifth legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the fifth legislative district, died March 24, 1958.

J. C. Blaisdell, Jr., who served in the twenty-fourth session of the legislative assembly in the house of representatives and who, subsequently, served as a member of the senate in the twenty-fifth and twenty-sixth legislative assemblies from the twenty-ninth legislative district, died February 28, 1958.

Clyde Kieley, who served in the thirty-fourth and thirty-fifth legislative assemblies from the fourth legislative district, died July 14, 1957.

Elias B. Lichty, who served in the thirtieth and thirty-first legislative assemblies from the twenty-second legislative district, died June 14, 1957.

John L. Miklethun, who served in the sixteenth to the nineteenth legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the sixteenth legislative district and in the twenty-third legislative assembly from the fifteenth legislative district, died July 31, 1955.

Fred Pathmann, who served in the nineteenth and twentieth legislative assemblies from the forty-seventh legislative district, died March 26, 1957.

John G. Plath, who served in the seventeenth to the twenty-first legislative assemblies, inclusive, in the house of representatives and who, subsequently, served as a member of the senate in the twenty-second and twenty-third legislative assemblies from the tenth legislative district, died January 9, 1959.

O. T. Tofsrud, who served in the ninth and tenth legislative assemblies from the thirty-fourth legislative district and in the eighteenth to the twenty-first legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the forty-second legislative district, died June 22, 1957.

Emil F. Torno, who served in the thirtieth to the thirty-fifth legislative assemblies, inclusive, from the thirty-fourth legislative district, died November 22, 1958.

Syver Vinje, who served in the twenty-fourth and twenty-fifth legislative assemblies from the eighth legislative district, died February 14, 1957.

Whereas, today, we as members of the senate of the Thirtysixth Legislative Assembly of the state of North Dakota, pause to mourn the passing of our former colleagues and to honor their memories; and

Whereas, these men rendered outstanding service to the people of this state by their contribution to their fellow men and their communities:

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved by the Senate of the Thirty-sixth Legislative Assembly of the State of North Dakota:

That we express our keen sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of these, our former colleagues.

Be It Further Resolved, that for the perpetuation of their memory, this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the Senate and that duly enrolled copies of this resolution be presented by the secretary of state to the surviving families of these deceased senators.

Filed February 25, 1959.

# SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION No. 3 (Ringsak, Erickstad)

#### CONDOLENCE TO SENATOR ROSAMUND O'BRIEN

A resolution of condolence to Senator Rosamund O'Brien upon the loss of her mother.

WHEREAS, the Divine Ruler has called from our midst Mrs. Halvor Thoe of Devils Lake, North Dakota, the mother and companion of Senator Rosamund O'Brien; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Thoe was one of North Dakota's pioneers and had made immeasurable contributions to the welfare and development of this state; and

Whereas, her passing will be a great personal loss to all who have come in contact with her in her long lifetime;

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved by the Senate of the Thirty-sixth Legislative Assembly of the State of North Dakota, assembled this 25th day of February, 1959, that we do hereby express and extend to Senator Rosamund O'Brien and her family our deep sympathy and condolence in this hour of sorrow; and

Be It Further Resolved, that the Secretary of the Senate be instructed to prepare an enrolled copy of this resolution to be forwarded to Senator Rosamund O'Brien.

Filed February 25, 1959.