SENATE RESOLUTIONS

CHAPTER 738

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1
(Nething)
(Approved by the Committee on Delayed Bills)

INSURANCE DEPARTMENT INVESTIGATION

A resolution creating a select Senate committee to investigate unusual operations in the Insurance Department, particularly during the month of December 1980.

WHEREAS, recent events have led to questions concerning the operations of the Insurance Department during the term of office of the previous commissioner; and

WHEREAS, a recent investigation by the Attorney General's office indicates that there were no actionable violations of the criminal laws; and

WHEREAS, the potential problems alleged in the department may, in any case, give rise to the necessity for ameliorative legislation;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That the creation of a select Senate investigating committee is hereby authorized. The committee shall be composed of seven senators, five from the majority party to be appointed by the Majority Leader, and two from the minority party to be appointed by the Minority Leader. The appointments are to be made within two days after passage of this resolution, and the Majority Leader shall appoint the chairman of the committee. The committee shall investigate the administration and operations of the Insurance Department, and especially such operations during the month of December 1980. The committee is to report its findings and recommendations to the Senate within 16 legislative days after passage of this resolution; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the select committee created by this resolution may call on such persons in the employ of the Insurance Department as it may deem appropriate; and may call on the Legislative Council staff, the Attorney General, the Department of Accounts and Purchases, and any other executive department, agency, office, officer, board, bureau, commission, or institution, or any organization or individuals outside state government, for any reasonable assistance in the conduct of its study and review as the select committee deems necessary; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that copies of this resolution be forwarded immediately by the Secretary of State to the Commissioner of Insurance.

CHAPTER 739

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 2
(H. Christensen, Redlin, Reiten, Walsh)
(Approved by the Committee on Delayed Bills)

LOUISIANA STATE UNIVERSITY BASKETBALL COACH

A resolution expressing the congratulations and appreciation of the North Dakota Senate to native son, Dale Brown, for his outstanding personal character, his achievements as basketball coach of Louisiana State University, and the credit he has brought to his home state of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, Dale Brown was born in Minot, North Dakota, was an all-state basketball player, and led all Class "A" scorers in his senior year at St. Leo's High School; and

WHEREAS, Dale Brown graduated from Minot State College with academic honors and achieved the distinction of being the only athlete at Minot State College to earn 12 letters in varsity sports; and

WHEREAS, Dale Brown was selected head basketball coach at Louisiana State University and is now the winningest coach in the history of LSU basketball; and

WHEREAS, Dale Brown has recently led his team to the "Final 4" of the 1981 National Collegiate Athletic Association Basketball Tournament and has been named 1981 NCAA Basketball "Coach of the Year"; and

WHEREAS, Dale Brown is also active as an outstanding public speaker, both here and abroad, and has motivated young and old alike:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That the North Dakota Senate publicly expresses, by adoption of this resolution, its congratulations and appreciation to native son, Dale Brown, for his outstanding personal character, his achievements as basketball coach of Louisiana State University, and the credit he has brought to his home state of North Dakota; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that copies of this resolution be forwarded by the Secretary of State to Dale Brown, Reuben Hammond, Minot, North Dakota, and the presidents of Louisiana State University and Minot State College.