DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION



Rapid enrollment grants - The Legislative Assembly provided \$5 million from the oil and gas impact grant fund to the Superintendent of Public Instruction for rapid enrollment grants. If the number of students enrolled in a district increases by at least 7 percent annually, and if that increase is equal to at least 25 students, the district's grant is the per student payment multiplied by the actual increase in its student enrollment. The Superintendent of Public Instruction may not award more than \$2.5 million in grants during the first year of the 2011-13 biennium. If the appropriated amount is insufficient, the Superintendent of Public Instruction is authorized to prorate the grants. A district is precluded from receiving a rapid enrollment grant if the district is not eligible to receive state aid because of the level of its general fund ending balance.

For the 2011-12 school year the Department of Public Instruction has distributed rapid enrollment grants totaling \$2.4 million to the following 10 school districts enrolling 616 new students:

School District	Enrollment Increase	Rapid Enrollment Grant
Williston	192	\$750,720
McKenzie County	114	445,740
Stanley	78	304,980
Divide County	54	211,140
Warwick	36	140,760
Bowman County	30	117,300
Minnewaukan	29	113,390
South Heart	28	109,480
Nesson	28	109,480
South Prairie	27	105,570
Total	616	\$2,408,560

There were no qualified applicants that did not receive funding during the first year of the biennium, and the department anticipates the remaining funding will be used to fund grants in the second year of the biennium. The department reports that it is possible payments for the second year of the biennium may need to be prorated.

Legislative Council July 2012