## CHAPTER 677

## **SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 8001**

(Memorial Resolutions Committee)

## SENATE MEMBERS MEMORIAL

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, God has summoned to eternal rest our former colleagues:

James A. Berg, who served in the 55th Legislative Assembly, from District 44, died September 20, 1997;

Ralph Dewing, who served in the 32nd through the 35th Legislative Assemblies, from District 40, died January 27, 1999;

Lloyd M. Erickson, who served in the 35th through the 38th Legislative Assemblies, from District 49, died July 28, 1998;

John O. Garaas, who served in the 35th through the 37th Legislative Assemblies, from District 41, died March 4, 1997;

Emil E. Kautzmann, who served in the 38th and 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 30, and in the 40th through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 34, died September 15, 1996;

Clayton A. Lodoen, who served in the 45th through the 51st Legislative Assemblies, from District 13, died May 8, 1998;

Frank A. Wenstrom, who served in the 35th and 36th Legislative Assemblies, from District 45, and in the 40th through the 49th Legislative Assemblies, from District 1, died May 12, 1997; and

WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former Senate colleagues and to honor their memories; and

WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contributions to public service;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the Senate and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of these deceased senators.

Filed March 12, 1999