Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 4, 2005

HOUSE BILL NO. 1247 (Representatives Aarsvold, D. Johnson, Monson, Pollert) (Senators Freborg, Tallackson)

AN ACT to amend and reenact sections 4-10.3-03 and 4-10.3-04 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to the dry bean council and dry bean districts; and to provide for application.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 4-10.3-03 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

4-10.3-03. North Dakota state dry bean council - Membership - Election - Term.

- 1. The North Dakota dry bean council is composed of one participating grower elected from each of the districts established in section 4-10.3-04. The chairman of the council must be a member of the council elected by a majority vote of the council. The agriculture commissioner is an ex officio member of the council.
- 2. Every elected council member must be a citizen of the state and a bona fide resident of and participating grower in the district the member represents.
- 3. The term of each elected member is three years and begins on April first of the year of election, except that initially one member must be elected for a three-year term; two members must be elected for two-year terms; and two members must be elected for one-year terms as designated by the commissioner.
- <u>4.</u> If at any time during a member's term the member ceases to possess any of the qualifications provided for in this chapter, the member's office is deemed vacant and the council shall, by majority vote, appoint another qualified participating grower for the remainder of the term of the office vacated.
- 5. The commissioner, or a county agent designated by the commissioner, in cooperation with the cooperative extension service, shall conduct all elections under this section in each district in the manner the commissioner deems fair and reasonable. Elections must be held before April first of each year.
- <u>6.</u> No elected member of the council is eligible to serve more than two three consecutive three-year terms.

SECTION 2. AMENDMENT. Section 4-10.3-04 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

4-10.3-04. Dry bean districts - Establishment. The following dry bean districts are established for the purpose of dividing the state into districts containing as nearly equal dry bean acreages as practicable:

- 1. District one consists of the counties of Benson, Bottineau, Burke, Cavalier, Divide, McHenry, Mountrail, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Renville, Rolette, and Towner, Walsh, Ward, and Williams Counties.
- 2. District two consists of Grand Forks County Ramsey and Walsh Counties.

- 3. District three consists of the counties of Barnes, Billings, Burleigh, Dunn, Eddy, Foster, Golden Valley, Griggs, Kidder, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Nelson, Oliver, Sheridan, Steele, Stutsman, and Wells Grand Forks and Nelson Counties.
- 4. District four consists of <u>Griggs, Steele, and</u> Traill County <u>Counties</u>.
- 5. District five consists of the counties of Adams, Bowman, Barnes, Cass, Dickey, Emmons, Grant, Hettinger, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McIntosh, Morton, Ransom, Richland, Sargent, Sioux, Slope, and Stark and Stutsman Counties.
- 6. District six consists of Adams, Benson, Billings, Bottineau, Bowman, Burke, Burleigh, Divide, Dunn, Eddy, Emmons, Foster, Golden Valley, Grant, Hettinger, McHenry, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Oliver, Pierce, Renville, Rolette, Sheridan, Sioux, Slope, Stark, Ward, Wells, and Williams Counties.

SECTION 3. APPLICATION. The initial term of the member representing district six must be arranged so that not more than two terms expire each year.

Speaker of the House President of the Senate Secretary of the Senate Chief Clerk of the House This certifies that the within bill originated in the House of Representatives of the Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota and is known on the records of that body as House Bill No. 1247. House Vote: Yeas 89 Nays 0 Absent 5 Nays 0 Senate Vote: Yeas 46 Absent 1 Chief Clerk of the House Received by the Governor at ______ M. on ______, 2005. Approved at ______, 2005. Governor Filed in this office this ______ day of ______, 2005, at _____ o'clock _____ M.

Secretary of State