Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4017

Introduced by

Senators Thane, Lindaas, Tallackson

Representatives Belter, Wall, Williams

1 A concurrent resolution urging Congress not to ratify the Central American Free Trade 2 Agreement until Congress can guarantee the citizens of this state and this country that the 3 domestic sugar industry will not suffer economic harm as a result of the agreement's provisions. 4 **WHEREAS**, the Central American Free Trade Agreement, also known as the CAFTA, is 5 a proposed agreement between the United States and the Central American nations of 6 Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Costa Rica, and Nicaragua; and 7 WHEREAS, the office of the United States Trade Representative termed the CAFTA "a 8 historic agreement that will eliminate tariffs and trade barriers and expand regional opportunities 9 for the workers, manufacturers, consumers, farmers, ranchers, and service providers of all the 10 countries"; and 11 **WHEREAS**, the CAFTA would immediately raise Central American sugar exports, 12 thereby jeopardizing most of the sugar-producing regions in this country, including the Red 13 River Valley in this state; and 14 WHEREAS, the sugar beet industry provides income to many residents and infuses 15 capital into the local, regional, and state economies; and 16 **WHEREAS**, the CAFTA will cause a significant reduction in the income of this state's 17 sugar beet producers; 18 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE 19 HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN: 20 That the Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly urges the Congress of the United States not to 21 ratify the Central American Free Trade Agreement until Congress can guarantee the citizens of 22 this state and this country that the domestic sugar industry will not suffer economic harm as a

23 result of the agreement's provisions; and

Fifty-ninth Legislative Assembly

- 1 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this
- 2 resolution to the President of the United States, the United States Trade Representative, and to
- 3 each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation.