NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, July 30, 2008 Plains Room, Memorial Union, North Dakota State University Fargo, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the June 26, 2008, meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Welcome and comments by Mr. Keith D. Bjerke, Vice President for University Relations, North Dakota State University

HIGHER EDUCATION STUDY

- 9:15 a.m. Discussion facilitated by Mr. Dennis Jones, National Center for Higher Education Management Systems, regarding higher education finance models, including:
 - Base funding
 - Investment funding
 - Performance funding
 - Capital projects funding
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding a memorandum on the ability of the Legislative Assembly to place additional qualifications on members of the State Board of Higher Education
- 1:10 p.m. Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota University System regarding the orientation process for new members of the State Board of Higher Education
- 1:30 p.m. Continued discussion regarding higher education governance
- 3:45 p.m. Comments by Chairman Ken Svedjan regarding the reconvening of the Higher Education Roundtable
- 4:00 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 4:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Ken Svedjan (Chairman), Lois Delmore, Kathy Hawken, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Matthew M. Klein, Bob Martinson, Jasper Schneider, Bob Skarphol, John D. Wall, Clark Williams Senators Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, Dave Oehlke, Tracy Potter, Larry J. Robinson