Sixty-second Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

SENATE BILL NO. 2339

Introduced by

Senators Taylor, Marcellais

Representatives Boe, D. Johnson, J. Kelsh, Onstad

- 1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 15-68.1-01 of the North Dakota Century Code,
- 2 relating to the preservation of American Indian languages; and to provide an appropriation.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

4 SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 15-68.1-01 of the North Dakota Century Code is

5 amended and reenacted as follows:

6 15-68.1-01. American Indian language preservation committee - Membership -

- 7 Meetings.
- 8 1. The American Indian language preservation committee consists of:
 9 a. The executive director of the Indian affairs commission, who shall serve as the chairman;
- 10 b. The superintendent of public instruction or the superintendent's designee; and
- 12 c. An<u>One</u> individual employed as a faculty member at a<u>appointed by the president</u>
 13 <u>of each</u> tribal college, <u>appointed by the governor</u>;
- 14 d. The director of the state historical society;
- 15 e. The chairman of the North Dakota humanities council;
- 16f.The chairman of the university of North Dakota department of Indian studies or17the chairman's designee; and
- 18 g. One individual with experience in the development of curriculum pertaining to and 19 the teaching of American Indian languages at the elementary or high school 20 levels, appointed by the governorin the state.
- 2. The committee shall meet at least quarterly, at the call of the chairman.

22 SECTION 2. APPROPRIATION. There is appropriated out of any moneys in the general

fund in the state treasury, not otherwise appropriated, the sum of \$150,000, or so much of the

24 sum as may be necessary, to the Indian affairs commission for the purpose of funding programs

11.0596.01000

Sixty-second Legislative Assembly

- 1 to preserve American Indian languages, for the biennium beginning July 1, 2011, and ending
- 2 June 30, 2013. A funded program may receive no more than \$10,000 during the 2011-13
- 3 biennium.