NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

COMMISSION ON ALTERNATIVES TO INCARCERATION JOINT MEETING WITH INCARCERATION ISSUES COMMITTEE

Monday, September 19, 2016 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the August 29, 2016, meeting of the Incarceration Issues Committee
- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem regarding the updated crime report
- 9:20 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Lindsey Nieuwsma, Minority Justice Implementation Committee, regarding recommendations for the Council of State Governments' Justice Reinvestment Initiative
- 9:35 a.m. Presentation by the Council of State Governments' Justice Center regarding policy options
- 9:55 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to Justice Reinvestment
- 10:35 a.m. Break
- 10:55 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 11:15 a.m. Committee discussion
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Committee discussion
- 2:45 p.m. Break
- 3:00 p.m. Committee discussion and other business
- 4:15 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Commission on Alternatives to Incarceration

Senators: Ron Carlisle (Chairman), John Grabinger, Terry M. Wanzek Representatives: Ron Guggisberg, Kim Koppelman, Jon O. Nelson Citizen Members: Maggie D. Anderson, Leann K. Bertsch, Dan Donlin, Mark A. Friese, Meredith Huseby Larson, Duane Johnston, Paul D. Laney, Justice Lisa McEvers, Surrogate Judge Mary Muehlen Maring, Jason T. Olson, Gary Rabe, Thomas L. Trenbeath

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Counsel

Incarceration Issues Committee

Senators: Ron Carlisle (Chairman), John Grabinger, Terry M. Wanzek Representatives: Ron Guggisberg, Kim Koppelman, Jon O. Nelson Citizen Members: Leann K. Bertsch, Thomas Erhardt, Rozanna Larson, Judge Douglas Mattson, Presiding Judge Frank Racek, Aaron Roseland, Scott Steele, Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem, Chief Justice Gerald W. VandeWalle, Randy Ziegler