Sixty-fourth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3025

Introduced by

23

24

25

Representatives Thoreson, Dockter, M. Johnson, Kading, Kasper, Looysen Senators Campbell, Flakoll, Laffen, Nelson, Schaible, Sorvaag

1 A concurrent resolution of commendation to the North Dakota State University Bison football 2 team and Coach Chris Klieman for achieving an unprecedented level of dominance in NCAA 3 Division I football. 4 WHEREAS, the North Dakota State University Bison football team triumphed despite the 5 loss of twenty-three seniors from their 2013 championship team to capture a record fourth 6 consecutive NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision football championship; and 7 WHEREAS, postseason players Chris Board, Colter Pritchard, Shea DeJong, Trevor 8 Gebhart, Tyler Wrice, Jordan Champion, CJ Smith, Zach Colvin, Darius Anderson, Esley 9 Thorton, Derek McGinnis, Carson Wentz, Eric Perkins, Bo Liekhus, Daniel Polansky, 10 RJ Urzendowski, Adam Keller, Cole Davis, Ben LeCompte, Colten Heagle, Demitrius Gray, King 11 Frazier, John Crockett, Tre Dempsey, Chase Morlock, Keenan Hodenfield, Andrew Smith, Jedre 12 Cyr, Tom Barneson, Christian Dudzik, Bennie Wilson, Carlton Littlejohn, Dan Sargeant, 13 MJ Stumpf, Justin Axelson, Kurt Mattox, Matt Plank, Andrew Bonnet, Pierre Gee-Tucker, Nick 14 DeLuca, James Fisher, Travis Beck, Kyle Emanuel, Jeremy Kelly, Alex Hahn, James Gates, Joe 15 Haeg, Max Polson, Brian Schaetz, Bryce Messner, Adam Schueller, Brock Russell, Zac 16 Johnson, Jack Plankers, Erik Olson, Zack Ziemer, Austin Kuhnert, Jesse Hinz, Landon Lechler, 17 Nate Moody, Isaiah Frandsen, Zach Vraa, Carey Woods, DeSean Warren, Kevin Vaadeland, 18 Jeff Illies, Connor Wentz, Luke Albers, Grant Morgan, Mike Hardie, Jarrod Tuszka, D'Andre 19 Gillins, Greg Menard, Brad Ambrosius, Austin Farnlof, and Nate Tanguay; and coaches Chris 20 Klieman, Matt Entz, Tim Polasek, Atif Austin, Jamar Cain, Nick Goeser, Randy Hedberg, Joe 21 Klanderman, Conor Riley, Tyler Roehl, Joey Blackmore, and Hank Jacobs led the Bison to four 22 playoff victories to capture the team's fourth straight title; and

Page No. 1

a record of 58-3 over the course of their four years with the program, giving them more

championship wins than total losses during their tenure; and

WHEREAS, the seniors on the "Thundering Herd's" 2014 championship team accumulated

1 WHEREAS, Kyle Emanuel was voted the Buck Buchanan Award recipient as the top 2 defensive player in the Football Championship Subdivision; and 3 WHEREAS, Carson Wentz was named the Most Outstanding Player of the championship 4 game and received his second straight NCAA Elite 89 Award for the student-athlete with the 5 highest cumulative GPA at the national championship; and 6 WHEREAS, the North Dakota State University Bison football team had nine players earn 7 All-America recognition for their athletic performances; 8 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF 9 NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN: 10 The Sixty-fourth Legislative Assembly takes great pride in expressing its commendation to 11 the North Dakota State University Bison football team and Coach Chris Klieman for achieving 12 an unprecedented level of dominance in NCAA Division I football; and 13 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Secretary of State send a copy of this resolution to 14 Bison Head Coach Chris Klieman, North Dakota State University Director of Athletics Matt 15 Larsen, North Dakota State University President Dean L. Bresciani, and to each coach and 16 player of the 2014 championship team.