## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

## **EDUCATION FUNDING COMMITTEE**

Thursday, October 4, 2018 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the August 8, 2018, meeting

## ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY EDUCATION STATE AID AND FUNDING FORMULA STUDY

10:05 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the Department of Public Instruction of information regarding:

- Collaboration with the Department of Human Services relating to policy changes allowing expanded reimbursement for Medicaid covered services provided by school districts;
- A funding proposal for adult learning centers;
- How the ending fund balances of school districts receiving transition minimum payments compare to other school districts;
- The fiscal impact of exempting the portion of in lieu of revenue that is deposited in school district sinking and interest funds from the in lieu of revenue subject to deduction in the state school aid formula; and
- The department's budget request for the 2019-21 biennium

11:10 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the Tax Department regarding:

- Property tax budget deadlines for school district preliminary budgets and budget adjustments; and
- An update on efforts to delineate new property from property growth on school district general fund maximum levy worksheets

11:30 a.m. Comments by representatives of the North Dakota Council of Educational Leaders regarding the committee's study of state school aid and the funding formula

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Committee review of other topics related to the committee's study of state school aid and the funding formula including:

- · On-time funding;
- Cross border education and related tuition revenue deductions in the state school aid formula:
- · Voter approval for excess mill levies;
- · District size weighting factors that discourage school district consolidation; and
- Funding for school districts incurring tuition costs for students placed in summer programs outside of the district

2:00 p.m. Comments by interested persons

2:20 p.m. Committee discussion

3:00 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Senators: Donald Schaible (Chairman), Kyle Davison, Ralph Kilzer, Erin Oban, David S. Rust Representatives: Pat D. Heinert, Richard G. Holman, Dennis Johnson, David Monson, Mark S. Owens, Mark Sanford, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck, Denton Zubke

Staff Contact: Sheila M. Sandness, Senior Fiscal Analyst